Anthrax, Anesthesia, and Torture Victim tear it up at the Sunshine Theater on Feb. 10.
Anthrax, Anesthesia, and Torture Victim tear it up at the Sunshine Theater on Feb. 10.
Sunshine Theater, used with permission

On Feb. 10, Albuquerque’s own Sunshine Theater welcomes Anthrax, along with Anesthesia and Torture Victim. Doors for this 13+ show open at 7 p.m., with the first band taking the stage at 8 p.m. Tickets are only $25 and are available at Hold My Ticket.

Formed in 1981, New York City’s Anthrax is considered one of “The Big Four” thrash metal bands in the world, with the others being Metallica, Megadeth, and Slayer. To date, the band has unleashed 10 full-length studio CDs, the latest of which is titled Worship Music, issued in 2011 by Megaforce/Nuclear Blast. The band’s new album, titled For All Kings, will be released in late February of this year. Members of Anthrax are Joey Belladonna on vocals, Frank Bello on bass and backing vocals, Charlie Benante on drums and percussion, Scott Ian on rhythm guitar and backing/lead vocals, and Jon Donais on lead guitar.

Albuquerque’s Anesthesia, founded in 1998, plays modern thrash metal. Available at CDBaby is the band’s latest full-length studio CD, titled Deviants of the Wild. Also available from CDBaby is Anesthesia’s full-length studio CD, titled Unfuckwithable, which was originally released in 2006. According to the band, the best review this CD ever got came from a guy who worked at Epic Records. This dude supposedly said, “If Slayer and Metallica got together and gang raped Pantera over and over again, Anesthesia would be the bastard child.” Members of Anesthesia are Jake Pacheco on vocals and guitars, Dax Lujan on drums, Jon Savage on guitar, and Ziggy Busey on bass.

Based in the Land of Enchantment, Torture Victim infects the airwaves with a mix of blackened thrash metal, hardcore punk rock, and a dash of death metal. Listen to some of the band’s songs over at ReverbNation. Torture Victim released its debut full-length studio CD, titled of Darkness and Power, in 2013. Listen to the album at Youtube. Members of Torture Victim are Dominic Dimas on rhythm guitar and vocals, Gabe Martinez on lead guitar and vocals, James Gonzales on the battery, and Aaron Gentry on bass and backing vocals.

The Sunshine Theater is located in downtown Albuquerque at 120 Central Avenue SW. Get further details by calling 505-764-0249.