Get to know a Rock on the Range band: Dillinger Escape Plan

The Dillinger Escape Plan is a hardcore metal band from Morris Plains, New Jersey that made the scene in 1999 with their debut album Calculating Infinity. Their music is very hard, raw, and pretty violent as it is usually referred to as mathcore, experimental, or progressive metal.

The band currently consist of Greg Puciato on vocals, Ben Weinmann on guitars, James Love on guitars, and Billy Rymer on drums. The name of the band comes from the famous bank robber John Dillinger from the 1930s, who managed successful escapes from prison during those years.

The one of the band’s bass players Adam Doll was involved in a car accident that left him paralyzed from the chest down. The accident was only a fender bender, but Doll was reaching down below his feet to get a CD while the car collided onto another car. Because Doll was bent down, his spine was fractured with the jolt of the collision.

Many of the original band members for the band are no longer with the band. Before becoming the Dillinger Escape Plan, the band was a punk trio called Arcane. The original members of Arcane that went on to become the current Dillinger band were Ben Weinman on guitars, Chris Pennie on bass, and Dimitri Minakakis on vocals.

With their first album, the band was recognized and toured with Faith No More singer Matt Patton’s band called Mr. Bungle. Also, for the second album Miss Machine, the band had several singers for different songs since their original singer, Dimitri Minakakis, was exhausted from their rigorous touring. Matt Patton of Faith No More did some of the singing in that album.

Other albums by the Dillinger Escape Plan are Ire Works (2007), Option Paralysis (2010), and One of Us Is the Killer (2013). The band is due to play at the Rock on the Range 2015 in Columbus, Ohio, on Friday May 15 at 4:15 p.m.