John Mellencamp, Jermaine Dupri and Alan Jackson tapped for Songwriters Hall of Fame
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert YouTube

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced their new inductees will include John Mellencamp, Kool and the Gang, Jermaine Dupri and Alan Jackson on Feb. 6, according to Billboard. The new class of inductees will also include Bill Anderson, Ronald Bell, Steve Dorff, and Allee Willis, according to a statement on the  Songwriters Hall of Fame website.

The induction ceremony will be held on June 14 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced in the future.  Songwriters are eligible for induction after writing hit songs for at least 20 years.

The artists being inducted represent a cross-section of genres, noted SHOF co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff and president/CEO Linda Moran, in a statement on the SHOF website.  “The 2018 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a prodigious representation of creators of cross-genre hits, certain to resonate with everyone. Each year, the slate of songwriters we induct is more diverse and illustrative of the history and contributions that we strive to acknowledge and honor. We could not be more excited to preside over this year’s event and to give these songwriters their due respect.”

Jermaine Dupri has written songs for some of the most famous singers/rappers of the past quarter-century, with over 30 number one hits for stars including Aretha Franklin, Alicia Keyes, Janet Jackson, Mariah Carey, Destiny’s Child, Notorious B.I.G., Usher, Ludacris, the Isley Brothers, and more. His hit songs include “Nice & Slow” (Usher), “My Boo” (Usher featuring Alicia Keyes, “We Belong Together (Mariah Carey), “Shake It Off” (Mariah Carey), “Money Ain’t A Thang” (Jermaine Dupri feat. Jay Z), and more.

Classic rocker John Mellencamp was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2008. The singer/songwriter are written his own hits, including “Hurts So Good,” “Jack and Diane,” “Crumblin Down,” “Pink Houses,” “Small Town,” and “R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.”

Country star Alan Jackson was inducted into the Country Hall of Fame in 2017. He launched his debut album in 1990 and has had 26 singles reach the top of Billboard’s country charts. Jackson has written some of country music’s most memorable songs, including “Chattahoochie,” “Midnight in Montgomery,” “Livin’ On Love,” “Drive” and “Chasin’ That Neon Rainbow.”

Kool & the Gang members Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown, and James “JT” Taylor will all be inducted. Their iconic hit “Celebration” was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.x