Snow Patrol end hiatus, announce new album
Snow Patrol YouTube

Snow Patrol has finally answered their fans’ call for new music by announcing their first album in almost seven years. The Irish-Scottish band unveiled the album’s title, Wildness, and its May 25 release date on Instagram and Twitter on March 8. A spaceship-themed album trailer was also posted on YouTube (Watch it above).

The last album the Gary Lightbody-fronted band released was their 2011 Billboard 200 Top 10 album Fallen Empires, which is also the first record to feature guitarist Johnny McDaid. Wildness is a 10-track album which is produced by Jacknife Lee. Lightbody talked about the album’s title and concept in a press statement saying, “There are many types of wildness, but I think it can be distilled into two: the wildness of the modern age, all it’s confusion, illogic and alienation and a more ancient wildness. Something primal, alive and beautiful that speaks to our true connectivity, our passion, our love, our communion with nature and each other. This is the kind of wildness the album is centered around. The loss of it. Trying to reconnect with it. To remember it.”

Snow Patrol fans will long remember the band’s critically-acclaimed major label debut album Final Straw, which put the Northern Irish band on the mainstream music map back in 2004. It was the group’s first album to top a U.S. chart, reaching No. 1 on Billboard’s Top Heatseekers chart and it also reached No. 1 on the Ireland Albums chart and No. 3 on the UK Albums chart.

Their next album, Eyes Open, propelled Snow Patrol to international fame with the smash hit single, “Chasing Cars.” The track garnered huge attention in the U.S. when it was featured on the season two finale of ABC’s Emmy-winning medical drama “Grey’s Anatomy.” It peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and No. 6 on the UK singles chart. The song notably gave Snow Patrol a Best Rock Song Grammy nomination and a Best British Single BRIT Award nomination in 2007.

Lightbody worked on other projects during the band's hiatus, including co-writing "The Last Time" with Taylor Swift and Jacknife Lee for her fourth studio album, Red. He also appeared with her in the song's video.  Last month, Lightbody spoke to BBC about the band’s impending new album and dispelled any speculation that Wildness would contain a “Chasing Cars”-style anthem. “I'm very proud of that song, it gave us so much, but I don't think that's possible any more. Music has moved on from that point, the big anthem guitar song has been done to death."

Overall, Lightbody “is really proud” of the record and “can’t wait for people to hear it.

The album trailer features some lines from the first track, “Life on Earth.” Check out the full track listing below and stay tuned to AXS for Snow Patrol News and updates.

The Wildness Tracklist:

1. "Life on Earth"
2. "Don’t Give In"
3. "Heal Me"
4. "Empress"
5. "A Dark Switch"
6. "What If This Is All the Love You Ever Get?"
7. "A Youth Written in Fire"
8. "Soon"
9. "Wild Horses"
10. "Life and Death"