2018 American Music Awards: Carrie Underwood, Imagine Dragons, Post Malone among performers
Clevver News/YouTube

Carrie Underwood, Imagine Dragons and Post Malone featuring Ty Dolla $ign are the first performers announced for the 2018 American Music Awards, which will take place Oct. 9 at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. Tickets for the show can be purchased here. ABC will have the U.S. telecast of the show, which will be hosted for the second year in a row by Tracee Ellis Ross. The actress, who currently stars in the ABC comedy series "Black-ish," has added executive producer duties this year for the American Music Awards.

Underwood is nominated for one American Music Award this year *Favorite Female Artist – Country), while Imagine Dragons has three nominations and Post Malone has six. Imagine Dragons and Post Malone are each up for Artist of the Year. Imagine Dragon's other nominations are for Favorite Duo or Group – Pop/Rock and Favorite Artist – Alternative Rock. Malone's other nods are for Favorite Male Artist – Pop/Rock, Favorite Artist – Rap/Hip-Hop and Favorite Album – Rap/Hip-Hop, while his hit "Rockstar" featuring 21 Savage is up for Collaboration of the Year and Favorite Song – Rap/Hip-Hop.

A complete list of nominations can be found here.

Underwood's sixth album, Cry Pretty, was released on Sept. 14, and she's going on tour for the album in 2019. Since 2013, Underwood has performed the opening theme for NBC's "Sunday Night Football," and she recently debuted her new "Game On" theme for the show.

Imagine Dragons have been on a world tour for the band's third album, Evolve, which was released in 2017. Imagine Dragons recently released "Zero" from the 2018 animated film "Ralph Breaks the Internet," the sequel to 2012's "Wreck-It Ralph."

Malone collaborated with Ty Dolla $ign for the song "Psycho." Malone has been touring extensively for his second album, Beerbongs & Bentleys, which was released on April 27. He is also the headliner and curator of the inaugural Posty Fest, which takes place Oct. 28 at Dos Equis Pavilion in Dallas. The festival's performers also include Tyler the Creator and Travis Scott.

As previously announced, the American Music Awards show has teamed up with YouTube Music for a multi-year deal that goes into effect for the 2018 AMAs. YouTube Music has signed on as a presenting sponsor for the show.

The 2018 American Music Awards show is produced by Dick Clark Productions. Barry Adelman, Marc Bracco and "American Music Awards" host Ellis Ross are the executive producers. Larry Klein is a producer.

The winners of the American Music Awards are voted for by the public. Nominations are based on key fan interactions as reflected on Billboard.com, including streaming, album and digital song sales, radio airplay, social activity and touring. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound. Nominees eligible for the 2018 American Music Awards those who had new music released from Sept.15, 2017, through Aug. 2, 2018.