2018 American Music Awards ticket sales announced at Microsoft Theater

Ticket details are available for the 2018 American Music Awards show, which will take place Oct. 9 at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. ABC will have the U.S. telecast of the ceremony at 8-11 p.m. ET/PT. Pre-sale tickets are available to Capital One cardholders from Aug.16-19 on AXS.com. Tickets go on sale to the general public on Aug. 20.

The 2018 American Music Awards show is produced by Dick Clark Productions. Mark Bracco and Barry Adelman are executive producers. Larry Klein is a producer.

The winners of the American Music Awards are voted for by the public. Nominations are based on key fan interactions as reflected on Billboard.com, including streaming, album and digital song sales, radio airplay, social activity and touring. These measurements are tracked by Billboard and its data partners, including Nielsen Music and Next Big Sound. Nominees eligible for the 2018 American Music Awards those who had new music released from Sept.15, 2017, through Aug. 2, 2018. Nominations will be announced sometime in September 2018. The show's host, performers and presenters are usually announced several days after the nominations. 

Bruno Mars was the biggest winner at the 2017 American Music Awards. He received seven prizes, including Artist of the Year. Keith Urban, another multiple-winner, was honored with three awards, including Favorite Male Artist - Country.

The show, which was hosted by Tracee Ellis-Ross, was also memorable for her mother Diana Ross winning the Lifetime Achievement Award and performing a medley of her hits. Other highlights were P!nk (singing while scaling a skyscraper) and Kelly Clarkson performing separately, after the two singers opened the show with a duet of R.E.M.'s "Everybody Hurts"; the U.S. TV performance debut of BTS, who performed "DNA"; and Christina Aguilera celebrating the 25th anniversary of "The Bodyguard" movie and soundtrack by performing a medley of hits from the album.

The 2017 American Music Awards also had artist collaborations across diverse music genres: Hailee Steinfeld, Alesso, Florida Georgia Line and Watt teamed up for "Let Me Go." Khalid and Imagine Dragons joined forces for "Young Dumb and Broke" and "Thunder." Selena Gomez and Marshmello performed "Wolves" together. Alessia Cara and Zedd performed "Stay", while Macklemore and Skylar Grey duetted on "Glorious."

Other performers on the show were Shawn Mendes, Demi Lovato, Nick Jonas, Niall Horan and Portugal. The Man.