2018 Americana Honors & Awards: Jason Isbell is the top winner
Austin City Limits TV/YouTube

With three prizes, Jason Isbell was the top winner at the 2018 Americana Honors & Awards, which took place Sept. 12 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. Isbell and his band The 400 Unit received the awards for Album of the Year (for The Nashville Sound) and Duo/Group of the Year, while Isbell took the songwriter prize for Song of the Year, for "If We Were Vampires. Meanwhile, John Prine was named Artist of the Year. 

In the non-competitive categories, the honorees (who were announced in advance) included Buddy Guy (Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist), Irma Thomas (Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance), k.d. lang (Americana Trailblazer Award) and Rosanne Cash (“Spirit of Americana” Free Speech Award).

The Americana Honors & Awards are part of the annual AmericanaFest: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, which takes place this year from Sept. 11-16 in Nashville.

Here is the complete list of nominees and winners for the 2018 Americana Honors & Awards:

Album of the Year:
Margo Price, All American Made. Produced by Jeremy Ivey, Alex Munoz, Margo Price and Matt Ross-Spang.
Brandi Carlile, By the Way, I Forgive You. Produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings.
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, The Nashville Sound.  Produced by Dave Cobb. **WINNER
Mary Gauthier, Rifles & Rosary Beads. Produced by Neilson Hubbard.

Artist of the Year:
Brandi Carlile
Jason Isbell
Margo Price
John Prine **WINNER

Duo/Group of the Year:
I’m With Her
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit*
Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

Emerging Act of the Year:
Courtney Marie Andrews
Tyler Childers **WINNER
Anderson East
Lilly Hiatt

Song of the Year:
Margo Price, “A Little Pain.” Written by Margo Price.
Lee Ann Womack, “All The Trouble."  Written by Waylon Payne, Lee Ann Womack and Adam
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, “If We Were Vampires."  Written by Jason Isbell. **WINNER
Brandi Carlile, “The Joke.”  Written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Daniel Donato
Brittany Haas
Jerry Pentecost
Molly Tuttle **WINNER


Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist: Buddy Guy

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance: Irma Thomas

“Spirit of Americana” Free Speech Awardpresented in partnership with the First Amendment Center: Rosanne Cash

Americana Trailblazer Award: k.d. lang

Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: Cris Williamson and Judy Dlugacz of Olivia Records