2018 MTV Video Music Awards: Madonna, Aerosmith join celebrity lineup; Aretha Franklin tribute added

MTV has announced that Madonna will attend the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards to present the award for Video of the Year, and Aerosmith will perform on the show. The ceremony takes place Aug. 20 at New York's Radio City Music Hall, and MTV will televise the show at 9 p.m. ET/PT. In addition, Variety has reported that the show has added a tribute to Aretha Franklin, who died of pancreatic cancer at her home in Detroit on Aug. 16.

It has not been announced who is participating in the Aretha Franklin tribute and what the tribute will entail. MTV VMA executive producer Jesse Ignatovic commented to Variety in an article published on Aug. 17: That’s our big focus now. Even [considering] how many times she performed here [at Radio City Music Hall], her connection to MTV in the heyday of music videos on the channel, and just what she means to music. We have our pie-in-the-sky dreams, but she’s one of the all-time greats so we have to do her justice …  It’s such a scramble to figure out what to do, we have to make sure whatever we do is true to her art. We don’t want to do anything too kooky, it’s got to be organic."

As for Madonna, she is an iconic part of MTV VMA history. Not only did Madonna give what many people consider to be the most memorable performance at the first MTV VMAs in 1984 (when she did a provocative rendition of "Like a Virgin" in a wedding dress), but she has gone on to perform, present, and win awards on the show several times. She has won 20 MTV VMAs in her career so far, including being the first female artist to win the Video Vanguard Award.

Aerosmith has also been a darling of the MTV VMAs for decades. The band has won 10 MTV VMAs, and has performed on the show multiple times. Aerosmith has won more awards at the MTV VMAs than at any other award show. The band recently announced a Las Vegas residency at the Park Theater at MGM Park to celebrate Aerosmith's 50th anniversary.

In addition to Madonna, other announced presenters at the 2018 MTV VMAs are Millie Bobby Brown, Cardi B, CommonDJ KhaledG-EazyGucci ManeTiffany HaddishKevin Hart, Keegan-Michael Key, KyleLenny KravitzLil Uzi Vert, Blake Lively, Shay Mitchell, Olivia Munn, Rita Ora, Liam Payne, Bebe Rexha, Amandla Stenberg and Teyana Taylor.

As previously reported, performers at the 2018 MTV VMAs include Nicki MinajAriana GrandeLogic with OneRepublic leader Ryan Tedder, Panic! At the Disco, Shawn MendesTravis ScottPost Malone and Jennifer Lopez, the recipient of this year's Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award. At the VMAs pre-show, the performers will be Backstreet BoysBazzi and Bryce Vine. For the first time, the MTV VMAs will have a PUSH Artist stage for emerging artists to perform at before the show. The artists selected to perform on this stage are Bazzi, Hayley KiyokoJessie ReyezJuice WRLD and PRETTYMUCH.

The MTV VMAs do not have a host this year. Instead, MTV has chosen several people to host VMA programming before the ceremony. Pre-show hosting duties will be handled by Terrence J, radio and TV personality Nessa and "Jersey Shore" stars Paul "Pauly D" Delvecchio and Vinny Guadagnino. MTV's live streaming coverage on the red carpet will be hosted by "Wild 'N Out" personality Justina Valentine and "TRL" co-host Erik Zachary.