2018 World Soundtrack Awards: Kendrick Lamar, Common, Alexandre Desplat, Jonny Greenwood among nominees
Andra Day/YouTube

The World Soundtrack Awards have announced the first wave of nominees for the 2018 ceremony, which will take place Oct. 17 in Ghent, Belgium. Among songwriters who are nominated for writing an original film song are Kendrick Lamar, Diane Warren, Kenneth Branagh and Oscar winners Common, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.

Film composers who received nominations include Oscar winners Alexandre Desplat and John Williams and Oscar nominees Carter Burwell, the late Jóhann Jóhannsson and Jonny Greenwood, who is best known as Radiohead's lead guitarist. Burwell will have a selection of his work performed at the ceremony by Brussel Philharmonic, conducted by Burwell and Film Fest Gent’s music director Dirk Brossé. The festival will also be releasing a compilation album with Burwell's work the same week of the World Soundtrack Awards. Philippe Sarde will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

TV composers who received nominations include Volker Bertelmann, Ramin Djawadi, Mac Quayle, Rupert Gregson-Williams and Adam Taylor.

Lamar is nominated for co-writing "Black Panther," the title track to the film of the same name. Branagh, who directed and starred in the 2017 remake of "Murder on the Orient Express," is nominated for co-writing the film's song "Never Forget." Meanwhile, three songwriting teams who have been nominated for Oscars have also picked up nominations for this year's World Soundtrack Awards. Warren and Common received a nomination for co-writing "Stand Up for Something" from "Marshall." Common won an Oscar for co-writing "Glory" from "Selma." Songwriter spouses Lopez and Anderson-Lopez, who won Oscars for "Let It Go" from "Frozen" and "Remember Me" from "Coco," have a World Soundtrack Award nomination for "Remember Me." Pasek and Paul, who won an Oscar for "City of Stars" from "La La Land" and were Oscar-nominated for "This Is Me" from "The Greatest Showman," is nominated for a World Soundtrack Award this year for "This Is Me."

Here is the first wave of nominations announced for the 2018 World Soundtrack Awards.

Best Film Composer of the Year

Carter Burwell, “Goodbye Christopher Robin”; “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Alexandre Desplat, “Endangered Species”; “Isle of Dogs”; “Suburbicon”; “The Shape of Water”; “Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets”
Jonny Greenwood, “Phantom Thread”
Jóhann Jóhannsson, “Last and First Men”; “Mandy”; “Mary Magdalene” (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir); “The Butcher, the Whore and the One-Eyed Man”; “The Mercy”
John Williams, “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”; “The Post”

Best TV Composer of the Year

Volker Bertelmann, “Gunpowder” (as Hauschka); “Patrick Melrose” (as Hauschka)
Ramin Djawadi, “Game of Thrones” (Season 7); “The Strain” (Season 4); “Westworld” (Season 2)
Rupert Gregson-Williams, “The Alienist” (Season 1); “The Crown” (Season 2, co-composed with Lorne Balfe)
Mac Quayle, “9-1-1” (Season 1, co-composed with Todd Haberman); “American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace”; “American Horror Story” (Season 7); “Mr. Robot” (Season 3); “Pose” (Season 1)
Adam Taylor, “Damnation” (Season 1); “The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 2)

Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film

“Black Panther” from “Black Panther”
Music & lyrics by Kendrick Lamar, Kevin Gomringer, Tim Gomringer, Solana Rowe I, Matt Schaeffer, Mark Anthony Spears & Anthony Tiffith
Performed by Kendrick Lamar

“Never Forget” from “Murder on the Orient Express”
Music by Patrick Doyle. Lyrics by Kenneth Branagh
Performed by Michelle Pfeiffer

“Remember Me” from “Coco””
Music & lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.
Performed by Benjamin Bratt

“Stand Up for Something” from “Marshall”
Lyrics by Diane Warren and Common. Music by Diane Warren.
Performed by Andra Day featuring Common 

“This Is Me” from “The Greatest Showman”
Music & lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
Performed by Keala Settle & The Greatest Showman Ensemble