3 multiplatinum albums by Lionel Richie to be released on vinyl this December
LionelRichieVEVO YouTube

Pop/R & B legend Lionel Richie will release three of his chart-busting multiplatinum solo albums on vinyl on Dec. 8 via Motown/Ume, per a press release. The albums, Lionel Richie, Can’t Slow Down, and Dancing on the Ceiling, were co-produced by James Anthony Carmichael and collectively cemented the former Commodores member’s solo superstar status. His 1982 eponymous solo debut album spawned Richie's first solo No. 1 hit, “Truly,” as well as two more Top 5 hits, “My Love” and “You Are.” The next two albums, released in 1983 and 1985 respectively, churned out multiple hits including the chart-topping dance song “All Night Long,” and his Oscar-winning “White Nights” movie theme song “Say You, Say Me.”

Having sold over 100 million records worldwide, Lionel Richie is one of the best-selling and most-celebrated singer-songwriters of all time. His first three solo albums demonstrated his keen ability to write and deliver songs that cut straight to the heart of millions of international fans. The four-time Grammy Award winner has also won a Golden Globe, an Oscar and nine American Music Awards. He was recently named a 2017 Kennedy Center Honoree and will help discover new talent as a judge alongside Katy Perry and Luke Bryan in ABC’s “American Idol” reboot.

The “Stuck on You” singer could be considered a ballad king. He’s not only penned and co-written timeless love songs for himself, but also for other artists. One of the best examples is one of Kenny Rogers’ signature love songs, “Lady.” The sweeping, romantic 1980 track topped three of Billboard’s charts, the Hot 100, Hot Country Songs and Adult Contemporary charts. Richie also wrote the 1994 smash hit “Endless Love” for the movie of the same name, which he performed and recorded as a duet with Diana Ross.

The Songwriter’s Hall of Fame Johnny Mercer Award recipient has also proven his prowess with massively popular dance-ready tracks like “All Night Long,” “Dancing on the Ceiling” and “Running with the Night.” He also co-wrote the critically-acclaimed, Grammy-winning 1985 charity anthem “We Are the World” with Michael Jackson.

Richie has notably acquired a large international fan base over the scope of his nearly five-decade career. This triple-release of Richie’s multiplatinum solo records drops at the perfect holiday gift-giving time. Lionel Richie remains a living music legend, who continues to grace the masses with his rich catalog of musical masterpieces.

The vinyl editions of Lionel Richie, Can’t Slow Down, and Dancing on the Ceiling are currently available for pre-order via Richie’s official website.The album track listings are below. Stay tuned to AXS for Lionel Richie updates.

Lionel Richie LIONEL RICHIE [1982, vinyl] Track Listing

1.  Serves You Right
2.  Wandering Stranger
3.  Tell Me
4.  My Love
5.  Round And Round
6.  Truly
7.  You Are
8.  You Mean More To Me
9.  Just Put Some Love In Your Heart

Lionel Richie CAN’T SLOW DOWN [1983, vinyl] Track Listing

1.  Can’t Slow Down
2.  All Night Long (All Night)
3.  Penny Lover
4.  Stuck On You
5.  Love Will Find A Way
6.  The Only One
7.  Running With The Night
8.  Hello

Lionel Richie DANCING ON THE CEILING [1985, vinyl] Track Listing

1.  Dancing On The Ceiling
2.  Se La
3.  Ballerina Girl
4.  Don’t Stop
5.  Deep River Woman
6.  Love Will Conquer All
7.  Tonight Will Be Alright
8.  Say You, Say Me
9.  Night Train (Smooth Alligator) [vinyl bonus track]