8th Gaon Chart Music Awards nominees and categories
Knets Media – YouTube

The Gaon Music Chart — similar to the United State's Billboard Music Charts — will be awarding South Korean music that achieved excellence in 2018 during the Gaon Chart Music Awards on Jan. 23. The 8th Gaon Chart Music Awards will take place at Seoul's Jamsil Indoor Stadium and will be hosted by Kim Jong Kook and MOMOLAND’s Nancy.

This year, the award show opted out of including the Popularity Award decided by fan votes. In response to this decision, Goan Char Music Awards official stated, "...We have decided to eliminate the Popularity Award that is determined 100 percent by fan votes as it causes unnecessarily high levels of competition amongst fandoms. With the number of music awards shows in Korea surpassing 10, popularity awards have led to many negative side effects. Therefore, until we are able to come up with a voting method that both music industry professionals and the general public can relate to, we will be eliminating popularity votes and awards that are completely determined by fan votes."

Popularity Award aside, there will still be plenty of awards to hand out during the ceremony. Artist of the Year- separated into Digital Music and Physical Albums - will look at data totals for music released throughout the months and quarters of 2018, respectively. There will be 11 other award categories with winners decided by various means, depending on the award (more below). 

Related — BLACKPINK makes history on this year's Coachella music festival bill

Here is the complete list of award categories and nominees for the 8th Gaon Chart Music Awards: 

ARTIST OF THE YEAR (Digital Music)
[11 winners total — 1 song from each month (excluding December), based entirely on Gaon Chart data for 30 days after the song’s release]

iKON – “Love Scenario”
Kim Dong Ryul – “Reply”
Red Velvet – “Bad Boy”
Bolbbalgan4 – “First Love”
Sunmi – “Heroine”

Kim Heechul, Min Kyung Hoon – “Falling Blossoms”
Roy Kim – “Only Then”
SEVENTEEN – “Thanks”
Jung Seung Hwan – “The Snowman”
Punch – Tonight”

MAMAMOO – “Starry Night”
BIGBANG – “Flower Road”
Yong Junhyung – “Sudden Shower” (Feat. 10cm)
Heize – “Jenga” (Feat. Gaeko)
Heize – “didn’t know me”

EXO-CBX – “Blooming Day”
TWICE – “What is Love?”
MeloMance – “Just Friends”
GFRIEND – “Time for the Moon Night”

AOA – “Bingle Bangle”
BTS – “Fake Love”
BTS – “The Truth Untold” (Feat. Steve Aoki)
Bolbbalgan4 – “Travel”
Crush – “Bittersweet”

BLACKPINK – “Forever Young”
Wanna One – “Light”
BTOB – “Only One for Me”
Shaun – “Way Back Home”

TWICE – “Dance the Night Away”
MAMAMOO – “Egotistic”
MeloMance – “Tale”
Apink – “I’m So Sick”
Zico – “SoulMate” (Feat. IU)

10cm – “Mattress”
iKON – “Killing Me”
Red Velvet – “Power Up”

Roy Kim – “The Hardest Part”
VIBE – “Fall in Fall”
Sunmi – “Siren”
Im Chang Jung – “There Has Never Been a Day I Haven’t Loved You”
Punch – “Good Bye”

Loco – “It Takes Time” (Feat. Colde)
Yang Da Il – “sorry”
Zion.T – “Hello Tutorial” (Feat. Seulgi)
Paul Kim – “Me After You”



ARTIST OF THE YEAR (Physical Album)
(4 winners total — one for each quarter of 2018, based entirely on Gaon Chart data for six weeks after the album’s release)

1st Quarter:
GOT7 – “Eyes On You”
NCT – “NCT 2018 Empathy”
Wanna One – “0+1=1 (I PROMISE YOU)”
SEVENTEEN – “Director’s Cut”
Jonghyun – “Poet | Artist”

2nd Quarter:
EXO-CBX – “Blooming Days”
TWICE – “What is Love?”
Wanna One – “1÷χ=1 (UNDIVIDED)”
BTS – “Love Yourself: Tear”

3rd Quarter:
GOT7 – “Present : YOU”
NCT Dream – “We Go Up”
TWICE – “Summer Nights”
BTS – “Love Yourself: Answer”
SEVENTEEN – “You Make My Day”

4th Quarter:


[Male and female artists who debuted in 2018,  based entirely on Gaon Chart data for Digital Music (30 days after the best-performing song’s release) and Physical Album (six weeks after the best-performing album’s release)]

Stray Kids
Yoo Seon Ho



Composer of the Year, Lyricist of the Year (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose winners from composers and lyricists who participated in music released in 2018(
Performer of the Year (Instrumental Accompaniment, Chorus)(The Federation of Korean Music Performers will choose winners from instrumental accompaniment performers and chorus singers who participated in music released in 2018)
Style of the Year (Choreography, Stylist) (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose winners from choreographers and stylists who participated in music released in 2018)
Discovery of the Year (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose a winner who was not awarded an Artist of the Year award but showed noteworthy activity in various genres throughout the year)
Hot Performance of the Year (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose an artist that showed exceptional performances in 2018)
World Hallyu Star Award (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose an artist that impressed the most with overseas activities)
World Rookie of the Year (A judge panel of industry professionals will choose a new artist that received lots of love overseas)
International Song of the Year (The artist from outside of Korea who has the highest Gaon Chart score for 2018 will be awarded)
Long-Run Song of the Year (The artist with the 2018 song that charted in the top 50 of the weekly digital chart for the longest time period will be awarded)
Popular Singer of the Year (The artist with the song that charted No. 1 on the 2018 karaoke chart will be awarded)
Album Producer Award (An album production label will be awarded based entirely on Gaon Chart data)