alt-J is back with the new album 'Relaxer'

alt-J is back with the new album 'Relaxer'

Courtesy of Canvasback Music

The indescribable British rock trio alt-J has announced a new album, as well as the first batch of summer tour dates.

The band’s third album Relaxer is set for release on June 9 on Canvasback Music. A follow-up to 2014’s This Is All Yours, the band once again worked with producer Charlie Andrew on the eight-song album. In a message posted to Facebook, the group thanked fans for their “patience over the last year or so.”

“After finishing touring This Is All Yours in December 2015 we took a long break,” alt-J wrote. “Thom released a solo album; Gus opened a restaurant; Joe has been watching a lot of films. We hadn't set a time limit on our time off but by August 2016 we were ready to get back into the studio. The result is our third album, Relaxer, and we are really excited for you to hear it.”

alt-J also announced the first leg of tour dates in support of the new album, including an Aug. 7 performance at Colorado’s famed Red Rocks Amphitheatre. Tove Lo and SOHN are set to open in support. Fans who preorder the new album through the band’s website will be able to access tickets before they go on sale to the general public at 10am on Friday, March 10.  

Click here to get your tickets to alt-J at Red Rocks and listen to “3WW,” the first single from Relaxer, in the video embedded below.

alt-J - Relaxer

1. 3WW
2. In Cold Blood
3. House of the Rising Sun
4. Hit Me Like That Snare
5. Deadcrush
6. Adeline
7. Last Year
8. Pleader