American Hockey League announces realignment for 2018-19 regular season

The American Hockey League has decided to realign its divisions for the 2018-19 regular season. The Ontario Reign, Bakersfield Condors and San Diego Gulls will remain in the Pacific Division with the Stockton Heat, San Jose Barracuda and Tucson Roadrunners. 

However, the San Antonio Rampage and the Texas Stars will be moving from the Pacific Division to the Central Division and a new American Hockey League franchise will be joining the Pacific Division. That franchise will be the Colorado Eagles, who are moving from the ECHL to the AHL for the 2018-19 season.

The Eagles will be affiliated with the Colorado Avalanche who are moving their top minor league affiliate from San Antonio to Loveland, Colo. The St. Louis Blues meanwhile will have the Rampage as their top affiliate after sharing the Chicago Wolves with the Vegas Golden Knights in 2017-18. The Wolves were the Golden Knights' top affiliate in 2017-18, but had a working arrangement with the Blues. Now the Golden Knights will have the Wolves all to themselves. 

Meanwhile, the Cleveland Monsters will be moving from the Central Division to the North Division. By changing divisions, the Monsters will also be changing conferences as they will move from the Western Conference to the Eastern Conference. 

The 2018-19 American Hockey League schedule has not been posted yet. There is no report yet if the California-based teams and the Roadrunners will continue to play eight fewer games than all of the other AHL teams with the new realignment.