AXS TV celebrates Women Who Rock on 'Sunday Night Rocks' May 13 Mother's Day block
AXS TV YouTube

AXS TV pays tribute to some of music’s most legendary women with a special Mother’s Day “Sunday Night Rocks” programming block that begins this Sunday, May 13 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.  The star-studded lineup features in-depth profiles, classic performances, premieres and more, starting with back-to-back episodes of “Rock Legends” featuring Blondie and Joni Mitchell at 8 p.m. ET and 8:30 p.m. ET, respectively. Further programming details are listed below.

“Rock Legends” – Blondie – 8 p.m.  ET/5 p.m. PT

“Rock Legends” is an acclaimed documentary series which explores the lives and careers of some of music’s biggest superstars. The series uses rare archive footage, classic performances, interviews, and commentary from notable music critics to present an in-depth look at iconic artists. The first “Sunday Night Rocks” Mother’s Day episode explores the amazing career of punk rock pioneer Blondie. Debbie Harry fronts the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inducted American rock band, with Chris Stein on guitar. Blondie broke out in 1978 with their third studio album Parallel Lines, which spawned the hit single “Heart of Glass.” Other Blondie hits include “Call Me,” “Rapture,” “The Tide is High” and more.

“Rock Legends” – Joni Mitchell – 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT

Next, “Rock Legends” pays homage to folk music icon Joni Mitchell. The nine-time Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter arguably defined an era with her indelible music catalog. She served up a beautiful blend of folk, rock, jazz and pop across her five decade plus career. Mitchell’s indelible hits include “Woodstock,” “Big Yellow Taxi,” “Carey,” “Free Man in Paris,” “Both Sides, Now” and many more.

“Rock & Roll Road Trip with Sammy Hagar” –“Acoustic Part Deux” – 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT

Sammy Hagar returns to The Fillmore in San Francisco for his annual Acoustic-4-A-Cure benefit concert. The Mother’s Day presentation features performances from four-time Grammy Award winner rocker Pat Benatar and her husband Neil Giraldo and two-time Grammy winner Sarah McLachlan. The Red Rocker leads the spectacular event with his larger-than-life rock star persona and irresistible charm. Acoustic-4-A-Cure unites artists in a night of song which supports UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital.

“Real Money” starring Eddie Money – 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT

Witty and wise classic rocker Eddie Money returns in a Mother’s Day installment of AXS TV’s hilarious new reality series which showcases the day-to-day antics of Money and his wife of thirty years Laurie, their five kids Zach, Joe, Jesse, Dez, and Julian and their large pack of adorable pets. In this episode, Eddie has written a heartfelt song for his wife – and her reaction isn’t quite what he expects.

“The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris: An All-Star Concert Celebration” – 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT

AXS TV closes its “Sunday Night Rocks” Mother’s Day programming block by premiering the star-studded 2015 concert special which honors the rich catalog of 13-time Grammy Award-winning country music superstar Emmylou Harris. Harris takes the stage herself to perform along with huge artists like Sheryl Crow, Kris Kristofferson, Alison Krauss, Martina McBride, Vince Gill, Mavis Staples and more. The Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award winner’s career spans almost five decades and produced 26 studio albums.

Find AXS TV on your TV and stay tuned to AXS for programming news and updates.