AXS TV to celebrate the best of punk with special 'Rock Legends' and documentaries
AXS TV Concerts/YouTube

Punk rock is taking over AXS TV on April 21 with a stacked lineup of profiles, performances and documentaries. Artists getting the spotlight are Green Day, the Clash, Blondie, Jane's Addiction guitarist Dave Navarro and the New York Dolls,

According to an AXS TV announcement, programming highlights include:

"Rock Legends" profile: The Clash - 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT and 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT

"Rock Legends" profile: Green Day - 1:30 p.m./10:30 a.m. PT and 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT

New York Dolls performance - 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT

Blondie performance - 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT and 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT

Dave Navarro's "Mourning Son" documentary - 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT

Green Day's "Heart Like a Hand Grenade" documentary - 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT

The Clash is considered one of the most influential punk bands of all time. The British band, led by singer/guitarist Joe Strummer, lasted from 1976 to 1986. The Clash released six studio albums (most notably, London Calling and Combat Rock), and had hit songs such as "Rock the Casbah," "Should I Stay or Should I Go," "London Calling," "Train in Vain" and a cover version of "I Fought the Law." In 2002, Strummer died from cardiac arrest at the age of 50, but his legacy lives on through the music of the Clash and his solo projects.

Hailing from the San Francisco Bay Area, Green Day formed in 1986, but didn't have a massive mainstream breakthrough until 1994 with the release of the album Dookie. Since then, Green Day has won several Grammys, and has remained one of the longest-running punk bands to continue its hit-making success. Green Day has kept the same lineup since 1990: lead singer/guitarist Billie Joe Armstrong, bassist Mike Dirnt and drummer Tré Cool. The 2015 documentary "Heart Like a Hand Grenade" chronicles the making of Green Day's 2004 concept album American Idiot.

Los Angeles-based rock band Jane's Addiction straddles the lines between punk, alternative and metal, but there's no doubt that lead guitarist Navarro is heavily influenced by punk. His 2015 documentary "Mourning Son" captures his traumatic and ultimately inspiring journey of coping with the death of his mother, who was murdered in 1983, when he was 15.

Blondie and the New York Dolls both emerged from the New York City punk scene in the 1970s. Both bands had breakups and reunions, but Blondie has stood the test of time and still tours regularly.

The New York Dolls, fronted by lead singer David Johansen, had their first incarnation from 1971 to 1977, when their flamboyant way of dressing and edgy stage performances made them critical darlings. The band released only two studio albums in the 1970s (1973's New York Dolls and 1974's Too Much Too Soon), but the New York Dolls have been hailed as influencing other bands such as Kiss, Motley Crue, the Smiths and Guns N' Roses. The New York Dolls broke up in 1977, reunited in 2004, and then disbanded again in 2011. The deaths of several key members (guitarist Johnny Thunders in 1991, drummer Jerry Nolan in 1992 and bassist Arthur Kane in 2004) and Johansen's focus on solo projects have made it unlikely that there will be another incarnation of the New York Dolls.

Blondie became the most commercially successful New York City band with punk roots, and 1978's Parallel Lines album was Blondie's first major breakthrough. During the band's first incarnation from 1974 to 1982, Blondie would veer into other genres, such as dance music ("Heart of Glass"), reggae ("The Tide Is High") and rap ("Rapture"), which resulted in some of the band's biggest hits. Blondie is also known for the classic rock/pop hits "One Way or Another" and "Call Me." In 1997, 15 years after breaking up, Blondie reunited with key members from the band's classic lineup: lead singer Debbie Harry, guitarist Chris Stein and drummer Clem Burke. Blondie is still a popular headlining act that occasionally releases new music.