Brandi Carlile's 'Cover Stories'

Brandi Carlile's 'Cover Stories'

Brandi Carlile

Singer-songwriter Brand Carlile's career-defining 2007 studio album, The Story, turns 10 years old this year. The landmark record contains the classic title cut (written by Phil Hanseroth), which has become one of country music's finest and most enduring recordings. To celebrate the milestone, Carlile enlisted the likes of Dolly Parton (who takes on "The Story"), Adele (on "Hiding My Heart," which was a bonus cut on her 21 LP), My Morning Jacket's Jim James ("Wasted"), Anderson East ("Josephine," featuring Miranda Lambert on background vocals), Margo Price ("Downpour") and many others to conjure up their own sterling renditions of the album's songs.

Th10th-anniversary disc, titled Cover Stories, goes to benefit the War Child UK charity and arrives May 5.

"This is a David and Goliath story. Since becoming a mother, the reality of a child's beautiful life being torn apart by war felt like too big of a problem for me. So I asked my heroes and friends to help me launch a rock at the giant that is our refugee crisis and help in the only way we know how: through the power of music," Carlile shared in a press statement. "This album defined our band and welded the Twins and me to one another forever. It’s been a transformative experience to revisit it 10 years later and watch it become something bigger than me. To hear the songs through the voices of my heroes is both surreal and humbling."

Former President Barack Obama is another unlikely addition to the release, as the 44th President penned the touching foreword. "As an artist, Brandi Carlile is using her talent on behalf of the most vulnerable among us, children living in areas of conflict. She reminds us that, together, we can build for our children a more just, peaceful world," he said in a statement.

Album bundles are now up for pre-order.

Here is the tracklist:

1.  "Late Morning Lullaby" (Shovels & Rope)
2. "The Story" (Dolly Parton)
3. "Turpentine" (Kris Kristofferson)
4. "My Song" (Old Crow Medicine Show)
5. "Wasted" (Jim James)
6. "Have You Ever" (The Avett Brothers)
7. "Josephine" (Anderson East, with MIranda Lambert on background vocals)
8. "Losing Heart" (Secret Sisters)
9. "Cannonball" (Indigo Girls)
10. "Until I Die" (TORRES)
11. "Downpour" (Margo Price)
12. "Shadow On The Wall" (Ruby Amanfu)
13. "Again Today" (Pearl Jam)
14. "Hiding My Heart" (Adele)

Stay tuned to for any and all updates.


Take a listen to Parton's take on "The Story" below: