Bruce Cockburn announces new studio album 'Bone on Bone'

Bruce Cockburn fans have lots to cheer about in 2017. The revered Canuck folk artist has announced his first new studio album in seven years, Bone on Bone, which will hit shelves Sept. 15 via True North.

The 13-time Juno Award winner made the announcement on July 12 on his official website. The long-awaited follow up to 2011's Small Source of Comfort will be released in conjunction with his upcoming induction into the Canadian Songwriter's Hall of Fame. Cockburn, along with Neil Young, Beau Dommage and Stephane Venne, will be honored at a ceremony to be held on Sept. 23 in Toronto at Massey Hall.

The long dry spell between Cockburn's albums came as result of the arrival of the “Wondering Where the Lions Are” hitmaker's baby daughter Iona in 2011, as well as time spent working on his autobiography, “Rumours of Glory: A Memoir,” which was finally published Nov. 4, 2014 via HarperOne.

“I didn’t write any songs until after the book was published because all my creative energy had gone into three years of writing it,” Cockburn explained in a press release. “There was simply nothing left to write songs with."

Bone on Bone was produced by longtime associate and Blackie and the Rodeo Kings star Colin Linden. Bone on Bone is Cockburn's 33rd studio album and features 11 tracks. The album is available here for preorder here in CD, digital and vinyl formats. See below for the full track listing.

Cockburn will hit the road with his band for a fall tour in support of the album, which will begin in Canada on Sept. 15  in Fredericton, New Brunswick at The Playhouse. The tour includes multiple U.S. stops, including two-night stands in New York, Chicago and Portland, Oregon, before wrapping up Feb. 17  in Aspen, Colorado, at Wheeler Opera House.

After a short breather, Cockburn will return for a brief U.S. spring solo run, beginning April 14 in Dallas at The Kessler and wrapping up April 21  Franklin, Tennessee at the Franklin Theatre. Tickets for select Bruce Cockburn events are available at AXS. For all the latest details on Bruce Cockburn, click here.

Bone On Bone track listing:
 1. States I’m In
 2. Stab At Matter
 3. Forty Years In The Wilderness
 4. Café Society
 5. 3 Al Purdys
 6. Looking And Waiting
 7. Bone On Bone
 8. Mon Chemin
 9. False River
 10. Jesus Train
 11. Twelve Gates To The City