Catch a British Rock invasion on 'Saturday Night Stack: The Who' July 22 on AXS TV
AXS TV YouTube

One of the biggest British Rock bands in history takes over AXS TV in the “Saturday Night Stack: The Who” programming block which airs on July 22. Electrifying performances, candid interviews and rare archival footage explore the band’s iconic legacy throughout the evening. Coverage kicks off at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT with an in-depth look at the critically-acclaimed superstars that helped shape the face of rock ‘n roll in “Rock Legends: The Who” with an encore broadcast at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

Next, Dan Rather chats with The Who co-founder Roger Daltrey about his iconic career in “The Big Interview” at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. CT. Daltrey is arguably one of the most influential front men of all time. His powerful vocals and energetic stage presence are unparalleled. Rather digs into the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer’s storied music legacy with his signature easy, conversational style. An encore episode airs at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT.

Watch diehard Who fan and novice filmmaker Jeff Stein’s riveting 1979 rockumentary “The Kids Are Alright” next at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. The film chronicles fun and pivotal moments which help define The Who’s musical evolution from the band’s 1964 inception to its 1978 global superstar heyday. It features the band interacting with fans, appearing on variety and talk shows, and totally rocking out during some of their biggest live performances. An encore broadcast airs at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT.

Finally, the night closes at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT with the band’s groundbreaking, Oscar-nominated rock opera “Tommy,” which is based on The Who’s 1969 double-length rock opera album of the same name. Roger Daltrey stars as Tommy Walker, the blind, deaf, and dumb musical wunderkind who embarks on a wild musical fantasy that’s peppered with music, drugs, religion, and pinball.The renowned British rocker is surrounded by a star-studded cast in the fan-favorite rock doc. Ann-Margaret won a Golden Globe Award for her performance as Tommy’s mother, Nora. Other notable cast members include Oliver Reed, Elton John, Eric Clapton, Jack Nicholson and Daltrey’s band mates Pete Townshend and Keith Moon. “Tommy” will re-air at 2 a.m. ET/11 p.m. PT.

“Saturday Stack: The Who,” Schedule at a Glance: Saturday July 22

6pE and 11pE– “Rock Legends: The Who”
6:30pE and 11:30pE – “The Big Interview: Roger Daltrey”
7pE and 12aE – “The Who – The Kids Are Alright”
9pE and 2aE – “Tommy”

Find AXS TV on your TV. The Who.is touring this summer. Click here for tickets and information to AXS-ticketed live shows.