Cher, Reba McEntire, Philip Glass, Wayne Shorter, 'Hamilton' creators announced as 2018 Kennedy Center honorees

The Kennedy Center and CBS have announced that singer/actress Cher, singer/actress Reba McEntire, composer Philip Glass and jazz saxophonist/composer Wayne Shorter will be the recipients of the 2018 Kennedy Center Honors, set to take place Dec. 2 at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. In addition, Tony-winning "Hamilton" musical creators—actor/writer Lin-Manuel Miranda, director Thomas Kail, choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler and music director Alex Lacamoire—will receive a special Kennedy Center Honors prize this year as "trailblazing creators of a transformative work that defies category," according to the announcement. CBS will televise the ceremony on Dec. 26 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

The annual Kennedy Center Honors, now in its 41st year, give recognition to those who have made outstanding achievements in entertainment and the arts. By the time people become Kennedy Center Honorees, they have usually won the top awards in the type of entertainment for which they are best known.

Here's a list of other major awards won by this year's Kennedy Center Honorees:

Cher: Academy Award (Best Actress for "Moonstruck"); Grammy Award (Best Dance Recording for "Believe"); three Golden Globe Awards (for "The Sonny & Cher Comedy Hour," "Silkwood" and "Moonstruck")

Reba McEntire: Three Grammy Awards (Best Female Country Vocal Performance for "Whoever's in New England," Best Country Collaboration with Vocals for "Does He Love You" with Linda Davis and Best Roots Gospel Album for Sing It Now: Songs of Faith & Hope)

Philip Glass: Golden Globe Award (Best Original Score for "The Truman Show")

Wayne Shorter: 10 Grammy Awards, including Best Contemporary Jazz Album for High Life

Lin-Manuel Miranda: Pulitzer Prize for "Hamilton"; three Tony Awards (Best Original Score for "In the Heights" and Hamilton"; Best Book of a Musical for "Hamilton"); Emmy Award (Outstanding Music and Lyrics for "Bigger!" from the 67th Tony Awards); the Grammy Awards (Best Musical Theater Album for "In the Heights" and "Hamilton" and Best Song Written for Visual Media for "How Far I'll Go" from "Moana").

Thomas Kail: Tony Award (Best Direction of a Musical for "Hamilton"); two Emmy Awards (Outstanding Special Class Program and Outstanding Direction for a Variety Special for "Grease: Live")

Andy Blankenbuehler: Three Tony Awards (Best Choreography for "In the Heights," "Hamilton" and "Bandstand").

Alex Lacamoire: Three Tony Awards (Best Orchestrations for "In the Heights," "Hamilton" and "Dear Evan Hansen"); three Grammy Awards (Best Musical Theater Album for "In the Heights," "Hamilton" and "Dear Evan Hansen")