Chris Stapleton's From a Room: Volume 1

Chris Stapleton's From a Room: Volume 1

Mercury Records/UMG

Fans of Chris Stapleton are gonna get a double-dose of new tunes this year. The troubadour dropped the bombshell on Thursday morning (April 6). His forthcoming new album, From a Room: Volume 1, is set for release May 5, and the official tracklist has been revealed, as well. The new LP features standout titles in "Broken Halos," "Up to No Good Livin'" and the ominous bookend "Death Row." Stapleton will issue the next installment, From A Room: Volume 2, later this year. 

Volume 1 also includes a cover of Willie Nelson's "Last Thing I Needed,  First Thing This Morning," originally featured on Nelson's 1982 record Always on My Mind.

During a private viewing event on Wednesday evening (April 5), Stapleton discussed the new collections. “I’m real proud of this record,” he told reporters (via The Tennessean). “We made it right here in (RCA Studio A) like the last one. We camped out in here and had a lot of fun recording things.”

The new studio albums follow Stapleton's award-winning, platinum-certified debut, 2015's Traveller.

During Sunday's (April 2) 52nd annual ACM Awards, Stapleton debuted the lead single, the soulful toe-tapper "Second One to Know." Watch his performance on

Here's the From a Room: Volume 1 tracklist:

1. "Broken Halos" (Chris Stapleton/Mike Henderson)
2. "Last Thing I Needed,  First Thing This Morning" (Gary P. Nunn/Donna Sioux Farar
3. "Second One to Know" (Chris Stapleton/Mike Henderson)
4. "Up to No Good Livin'" (Chris Stapleton/Casey Beathard)
5. "Either Way" (Chris Stapleton/Tim James/Kendall Marvel)
6. "I Was Wrong" (Chris Stapleton/Craig Wiseman)
7. "Without Your Love" (Chris Stapleton/Mike Henderson)
8. "Them Stems" (Chris Stapleton/Jimmy Stewart/Shawn Camp)
9. "Death Row" (Chris Stapleton/Mike Henderson)

The album is up now for pre-order.

Stay tuned to for any and all updates.