Death Cab For Cutie announce new album ahead of fall tour, share video for lead single ‘Gold Rush’
Death Cab For Cutie/YouTube

Death Cab For Cutie will release their next studio album on Aug. 17 with a 10-track project titled Thank You For Today. The upcoming album was announced early Wednesday morning, and will follow 2015’s Kintsugi as their latest and ninth studio effort. The popular rock band from the Pacific northwest had previously teased new music along with announcing their upcoming North American tour, which is scheduled to begin later this summer on Aug. 2.

The album was produced by Rich Costey, and is the first in their career discography not to include contributions from founding co-member Chris Walla. It does, however, feature Dave Depper and Zac Rae, who until now have been touring members only, Stereogum reports. To celebrate the news of their upcoming album, the band shared its lead single (and music video) for a track titled “Gold Rush.” The nostalgic new single can be heard in full via the video above, and apparently pulled some samples from Yoko Ono.

Fans will be able to both see and hear singer Ben Gibbard’s acknowledgment of change in his hometown of Seattle, where the video was shot.

“The song is not a complaint about how things were better [back then] or anything like that,” Gibbard told NPR of their new single. “It's an observation, but more about coming to terms with the passage of time and losing the people and the moments in my life all over again as I walk down a street that is now so unfamiliar."

The band also shared a more in-depth look at how they feel about their latest creation in the announcement post shared to their Facebook on Wednesday.

“Beginning an album is always a time of many unknowns and seemingly endless possibilities,” it reads in the lengthy statement, seen below. “Building things up only to tear them down to the foundation. Refusing to settle for sounds that rang too familiar. Songs that at one point seemed like the backbone of the record were cast aside, while others took much longer to reveal the subtle qualities that made them essential additions to the final running order. In the end, we emerged with an album that we dearly love and stand proudly behind.”

The band’s fall tour across North America will see them visiting venues in major cities including Dallas’ Bomb Factory and two nights at the Kings Theatre in Brooklyn. They're also scheduled to perform at ALT 98.7 Summer Camp 2018 in Long Beach, California on Aug. 12. Tickets to select shows on the tour are on sale now, and can be purchased by clicking here.

Thank You For Today Tracklisting:
1. “I Dreamt We Spoke Again”
2. “Summer Years”
3. “Gold Rush”
4. “Your Hurricane”
5. “When We Drive”
6. “Autumn Love”
7. “Northern Lights”
8. “You Moved Away”
9. “Near/Far”
10. “60 & Punk”