Denver Comic Con 2017: Beer naming contest winner announced
Courtesy of Denver Comic Com media, used with permission

The winner of the Denver Comic Con beer naming contest has been announced, the nominations were as creative as ever:

  • Princess Pilsner created by Matthew Swartz to honor Carrie Fisher
  • Sonic Brewdriver created by Jen Cherry Millard to celebrate Doctor Who
  • Demopourgon created by Aaron Heath to celebrate Stranger Things
  • I Am Brewt! Created by Rhiana Elizabeth Henry to celebrate Guardians of the Galaxy

And the winner is...I Am Brewt! Huge congratulations to Rhiana for coming up with the super creative name for this year's official 2017 Denver Comic Con official beer. Rhiana will receive free Breckenridge beer for a year as well as the actual official DCC tap handle. Noah Eisenman of Boulder, CO is the artist who will be creating the artwork for this year’s collectible pint glass. Lucky attendees at select events leading up to and during the Denver Comic Con will have the chance to snag one of these collectible glasses.    
The beer naming contest is a Denver Comic Con and Breckenridge Brewery sixth annual tradition where each year a contest is held to put a name to the beer that will serve as the official Denver Comic Con beer. This year's Bohemian-style Pilsner was named by Rhiana Elizabeth Henry.  The tasty brew has been described as a "delicate and well-balanced, light yet complex. Saaz hops, a classic pilsner ingredient, impart a pleasant, earthy aroma while giving spicy flavor characteristics and a crisp, dry finish." Past winners of the contest include The Fantastic Pour, The Caped Brewsader, Brews Wayne, Hulk's Mash and Snape-ricot.

One of the largest pop culture conventions, Denver Comic Con will be at the Colorado Convention Center June 30 – July 2, 2017. Not only will there be fabulous beer, Browncoat favorite Nathan Fillion is coming to the party. What about the sweet news that "Luke Cage" himself, Mike Colter was recently added to the stellar list. They both join celebs such as Billie Piper, Felicia Day, Weird Al Yankovic, Bonnie Wright, Eliza Dushku, Finn Jones, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Khary Payton, Wallace Shawn, Ben McKenzie, Morena Baccarin and Robin Lord Taylor. Heads up "Justice League" fans, Cartoon Network's animated series has five of the members headed for Denver. Michael Rosenbaum, Phil Lamarr, Susan Eisenberg, George Newbern, and Maria Canals-Barrera. 

For more fabulous news and ticket information, immediately head over to AXS.COM and check it all out.