European League of Legends Championship Series rebrands and reveals 10 franchises
LoL Esports/YouTube

Riot Games has officially announced the details regarding the new franchise model for the competitive European League of Legends region ahead of the 2019 season. While the competitive region will still feature a total of 10 teams and a similar structure as the European League of Legends Championship Series, the overall attitude and aesthetic branding of the European league has changed to represent the introduction of franchising.

Formerly known as the EU LCS, the European professional region will now be named the League of Legends European Championship, or LEC for short. The league’s redesign will come with a fresh new logo, which was revealed as a crown resembling an explosion of energy.

Four of the 10 franchises will be new to the League of Legends scene for this upcoming year, including Origen, exceL Esports, Rogue, and SK Gaming. Six teams, including Fnatic, Schalke 04, G2 Esports, Splyce, Team Vitality, and Misfits Gaming, will make their return to the European region for the 2019 season.

With the changing of teams in the league comes the changing of rosters, and each team has been busy securing players and signing contracts. Each team has a set date starting Nov. 20 until the end of the month where they will introduce themselves to fans, according to the LEC’s official website.

The league’s start date is set for Jan. 18. Exact details for the league’s schedule and casting talent are still unknown, although Riot Games stated in its official announcement the LEC will maintain a similar format as the EU LCS with only a small number of changes.