Get a first look at 'Joe Satriani: Beyond the Supernova' premiering March 6 on AXS TV
AXS TV YouTube

AXS TV will proudly premiere the 2017 documentary “Joe Satriani: Beyond the Supernova” on Tuesday, March 6 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Satriani is widely considered to be one of the greatest guitar players in music history. The film is directed by Satriani’s son, ZZ, and follows the 15-time Grammy nominee during the Asian and European legs of his Surfing to Shockwave World Tour. Catch a first look of the film in the video clip embedded above.

Satriani’s career has spanned more than four decades and the acclaimed virtuoso reflects on his iconic legacy and contemplates his future in the very personal and introspective film. 2017 marked 30 years since the release of Satriani’s groundbreaking second studio album, Surfing with the Alien, which remains one of his most successful albums to date. Satriani performs tracks from his 2015 album Shockwave Supernova and offers insight into the autobiographical elements of the record and explains how it helped shape the next steps in his creative and musical journey.

Satriani has worked with a large lineup of artists throughout his prolific career including Mick Jagger, the super group Chickenfoot (with Sammy Hagar, Michael Anthony and Chad Smith), Alice Cooper and more. He taught guitar to the likes of Kirk Hammett of Metallica, David Bryson of Counting Crows, and more. The riveting film also features bassist Bryan Beller, percussionist Marco Minneman, former Frank Zappa guitarist Mike Keneally and cameos from guitar greats Guthrie Govan and Steve Vai.

In a recent AXS interview, the New York native rock instrumentalist discussed his latest album, What Happens Next, which dropped on Jan. 12. He also shared his excitement about the film and praised his son’s work on the project. “I think people will love the look and feel of the film. My son did a remarkable job finding the hidden stories on tour,” Satriani said. “It’s crazy because tours are crazy, you know? I don’t know how he did it, but he did a beautiful job, and I’m excited to get it in front of all the eyeballs out there!”

Catch the “Joe Satriani: Beyond the Supernova” premiere on Tuesday, March 6 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on AXS TV. An encore broadcast will immediately follow the premiere at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT and the film will air again on Sunday, March 11 at 12 p.m. ET/ 9 a.m. PT, only on AXS TV. Find AXS TV on your TV and stay tuned to AXS for programming news and updates.

Related: Joe Satriani's G3 brings extraordinary guitarists to Ohio