Jazz great Kamasi Washington shares two new songs, announces tour
Kamasi Washington/YouTube

Jazz saxophonist and bandleader Kamasi Washington has announced his full-length studio follow-up album to 2015’s The Epic. The upcoming double album will be titled Heaven and Earth, and is currently scheduled to be released through the British-based indie label Young Turks on June 22, the musician announced on Monday.

The 16-track, two-and-a-half hour double album was recorded with members of Washington’s own band, in addition to members of the West Coast Get Down jazz fusion collective, including former tourmate Thundercat, Terrace Martin, Ronald Bruner, Jr., Cameron Graves and Miles Mosley, Pitchfork reports. The upcoming release also follows Washington’s 2017 Harmony of Difference EP, which featured the wildly climactic final track, “The Truth.” Following the initial announcement on Monday, Washington shared the first two tracks with “Fists of Fury” from Earth and “The Space Travelers Lullaby” from the Heaven side of the double release. Both songs can be heard in full with their music videos seen above and below. 

“The reality we experience is a mere creation of our consciousness, but our consciousness creates this reality based on those very same experiences. We are simultaneously the creators of our personal universe and creations of our personal universe,” Washington said about the upcoming release in a statement. “The ‘Earth’ side of this album represents the world as I see it outwardly, the world that I am a part of. The ‘Heaven’ side of this album represents the world as I see it inwardly, the world that is a part of me. Who I am and the choices I make lie somewhere in between.”

Washington will perform at Coachella out in the California desert this weekend. He's also scheduled to tour across Europe throughout the summer, only come back to North America for a run of concerts come fall. Some of the highlight shows on his 2018 tour schedule include concerts at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, Colo. with Vulfpeck on April 27, and New York City’s Forest Hills Stadium with alt-J later in the summer on June 15.

Heaven and Earth Tracklisting:
I. Earth:
1. “Fists of Fury“
2. “Can You Hear Him“
3. “Hubtones“
4. “Connections“
5. “Tiffakonkae“
6. “The Invincible Youth“
7. “Testify“
8. “One of One“

II. Heaven:
9. “The Space Travelers Lullaby“
10. “Vi Lua Vi Sol“
11. “Street Fighter Mas“
12. “Song for the Fallen“
13. “Journey“
14. “The Psalmnist“
15. “Show Us the Way“
16. “Will You Sing“