John Prine collaborates with Jason Isbell, Brandi Carlile on first album of new music in over a decade
John Prine YouTube

Singer/songwriter John Prine announced that he will release his first album of new songs in over a decade, according to Feb. 7 article in Rolling Stone. The Tree of Forgiveness will be his first album of new music since 2005, when he released Fair & Square.

The Tree of Forgiveness will be released by Oh Boy Records on April 13, according to the John Prine website.  Prine released a lyric video for the song “Summer’s End,” from the new album, which is attached to this article.

The folksinger’s new album will feature guest artists, including Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, and Amanda Shire. The album includes tracks written in collaboration with Dan Auerbach and Pat McLaughlin. The track crafted with Phil Spector is from the late 1970s, when the two collaborated on an album that never materialized, according to the Los Angeles Times.  

Prine released an album of classic country duets titled For Better, Or Worse in 2016. The album includes duets with female artists, including Lee Ann Womack, Miranda Lambert, Kathy Mattea, Alison Krauss, and Iris DeMent.

The Grammy-Award winning folksinger was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Americana Awards and Honors in 2017, according to The Tennessean.

Prine will be touring to support the new album in 2018, including appearances with Sturgill Simpson, Kurt Vile, Tyler Childers, Margo Price, Sam Outlaw, and other artists.  Tickets to select concerts will be available on AXS.

The Tree of Forgiveness Track Listing

1. “Knockin’ On Your Screen Door” (by John Prine and Pat McLaughlin)
2. “I Have Met My Love Today” - Feat. Brandi Carlile (by John Prine and Roger Cook)
3. “Egg & Daughter Nite, Lincoln Nebraska, 1967 (Crazy Bone)” (by John Prine and Pat McLaughlin)
4. “Summer’s End” (written by John Prine and Pat McLaughlin)
5. “Caravan of Fools” (by John Prine, Dan Auerbach, and Pat McLaughlin)
6. “The Lonesome Friends of Science” (by John Prine)
7. “No Ordinary Blue” (by John Prine and Keith Sykes)
8. “Boundless Love” (by John Prine, Dan Auerbach, and Pat McLaughlin)
9. “God Only Knows” (by John Prine and Phil Spector)
10. “When I Get to Heaven” (by John Prine)