Kacey Mugraves will release her debut holiday album, entitled A Very Kacey Christmas, on Oct. 28 through Mercury Nashville. 

Kacey Mugraves will release her debut holiday album, entitled A Very Kacey Christmas, on Oct. 28 through Mercury Nashville. 

UMG Nashville

This winter, Kacey Musgraves is ensuring you and yours have "A Very Kacey Christmas.” The country artist will showcase her take on the Yuletide spirit with A Very Kacey Christmas (featuring Leon Bridges, Willie Nelson & The Quebe Sisters ), due out Oct. 28. The 12-song collection, which Mugraves co-produced with band leader Misa Arriaga and Kyle Ryan, is comprised of four original songs and eight holiday covers.

“Working on my first Christmas album has been one of the most enriching musical experiences I’ve ever had and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it,” Musgraves said in a statement. “I really wanted to create a whimsical throwback holiday record, one that evokes feelings of nostalgia and simpler times. I think that the fine musicians and brains that were a part of this project have helped me create a body of music that can be added to people’s classic collections.”

From the arrangements to the artwork, the album is thematically retro, with Musgraves citing Bing Crosby, the Andrew Sisters, and Nat King Cole as key inspirations. However, she's not just singing over your standard holiday karaoke tracks; Musgraves ensured the project had its own unique tone. "It would have been easy to simply copy old versions of these songs that have been around forever, but it was very important for us to build arrangements that are totally new and very me.”

Although the collection contains its fair share of upbeat ditties (like "Let It Snow" and "Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer"), Mugraves didn't shy away from darker material (like her original "Christmas Makes Me Cry"). "There can be a touch of sad feelings and memories during the holiday season for a lot of people," she explained. "I knew when I went in to write I wanted to include all the emotions this time of year can bring out." 

And if there's anyone we want to soundtrack the ups and downs of the holiday season, it's Mugraves. Check out the track listing below. 

Kacey Mugraves A Very Kacey Christmas Track Listing:

1. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

2. Let It Snow (featuring The Quebe Sisters)

3. Christmas Don’t Be Late

4. A Willie Nice Christmas (Featuring Willie Nelson and Trigger; Written by Kacey Musgraves, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne)

5. Feliz Navidad

6. Christmas Makes Me Cry (Written by Kacey Musgraves, Shane McAnally and Brandy Clark)

7. Present Without A Bow (Featuring Leon Bridges; Written by Kacey Musgraves, Leon Bridges, Austin Jenkins and Luke Laird)

8. Mele Kalikimaka (featuring The Quebe Sisters)

9. I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas

10. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

11. Ribbons and Bows (Written by Kacey Musgraves, Julia Michaels and Justin Tranter)  

12. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?