President of the LCS Players Association Darshan "Darshan" Upadhyaya

President of the LCS Players Association Darshan "Darshan" Upadhyaya

Riot Games

The League of Legends Championship Series Players Association recently established a rule that allows players released from a team within 48 hours of the league's roster deadline to have an additional three days to sign with another organization.

The rule follows a trade made by Echo Fox in July of 2018, where the team released Kim "Fenix" Jae-hun, Johnny "Altec" Ru, and Adrian "Adrian" Ma within hours of the roster deadline. The release denied the three players the chance to sign with another team, effectively preventing them from competing in the rest of the split.

Fenix has since re-signed with Echo Fox, while neither Adrian nor Altec have joined a team for the upcoming season.

Riot Games first created the Players Association in 2017. In June of 2018, the committee handed the reigns to five elected professional players in the North American region, including Darshan "Darshan" Upadhyaya, Yiliang “Doublelift” Peng, Søren "Bjergsen" Bjerg, Vincent “Biofrost” Wang, and Alfonso "Mithy" Aguirre Rodríguez.

The recent ruling will go into place ahead of the 2019 LCS spring split, which kicks off Jan. 26.