Listen: Julia Michaels teases snippet of Selena Gomez collab 'Anxiety'
Lauv YouTube

Julia Michaels treated her fans to a snippet of her upcoming Selena Gomez collab track, “Anxiety,” which appears on her highly-anticipated fourth EP Inner Monologue Part 1. Part of the lyrics are displayed in the preview, which she posted on Instagram yesterday (Jan. 22).

Michaels can be heard singing, “But all my friends they don’t know/What it’s like, what it’s like/They don’t understand why/I can’t sleep through the night” as the lines scroll through the brief clip.

“Anxiety” is the first track on Michaels’ upcoming six-track collection, which also features Niall Horan on the last track, on a song called “What a Time.” The EP is slated for release this Friday, Jan. 25. The two-time Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter announced the EP’s impending arrival last week. It follows Michaels’ third EP, Nervous System, which contains the Grammy-nominated lead single “Issues.”

It’s no surprise Michaels has already received support from her famous musical peers about her latest collection of songs. Hailee Steinfeld commented, “I’m already crying” on Michaels’ Instagram announcement. UK superstar James Bay posted “Ready” with a lightning bolt and rock-and-roll emojis and “Voice” champ Brynn Cartelli said, “Can’t wait.”

Michaels previously penned songs for Gomez and Steinfeld, along with other huge artists like Justin Bieber, Gwen Stefani, Shawn Mendes and Demi Lovato. Her solo music career took off in 2017 after “Issues” released to widespread critical acclaim. Recently, she teamed with Lauv on the collab single "There's No Way."  (Check out the video for the track above).

Michaels has opened for Mendes, Horan, Maroon 5 and Keith Urban on their headlining tours. She's currently opening for P!nk on the Beautiful Trauma World Tour, which includes a stop at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada on Apr. 12 (Tickets).

The critically-acclaimed pop songstress boasts a distinctive, sultry, soulful tone. She’s kicking off 2019 on an exciting note with Inner Monologue Part 1’s release. Listen to the “Anxiety” preview and check out the EP’s tracklist below.

Inner Monologue Part 1 Track List

1. “Anxiety” feat. Selena Gomez
2. “Into You”
3. “Happy”
4. “Deep”
5. “Apple”
6. “What a Time” feat. Niall Horan

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Julia Michaels (@juliamichaels) on