Listen: Junkie XL returns with 'Tomb Raider' soundtrack

DJ and composer Junkie XL is unleashing his next big-screen project Friday, when he releases Tomb Raider: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. You can listen to the album's first single "Seeking Endurance" by playing the video above, and pre-order the record on iTunes.

"Tomb Raider" will be released on the same day as the album. The film is a reboot of the "Tomb Raider" franchise, starring Academy Award winner Alicia Vikander ("The Danish Girl") in the title role of Lara Croft, a young woman who ventures to a mysterious island in search of answers regarding her father's disappearance and becomes an adventurer herself. The music for the franchise has developed its own popularity, with the soundtrack album for the Angelina Jolie film having featured a star-studded lineup in 2001.

That makes Junkie XL's album worth keeping an ear out for. Such a high-profile property needed a high-profile artist, and Junkie XL has established himself as a major name in the composing world, particularly when it comes to creating music for action heroes. In 2016 he co-authored the Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice album, and last year his work was heard in the trailer for the smash hit "Wonder Woman." His resume makes him a perfect fit to create a new sound for one of the most famous video game characters, and as you can hear in "Seeking Endurance," he has created something that is both dramatic enough for the movies and interesting to anyone who enjoys electronic music.

Though Junkie XL does not have any tour dates in support of the upcoming record, he doesn't need them. Listening to Tomb Raider: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is like going on a musical adventure, and whether or not listeners have ever heard of Lara Croft, the record will keep them on the edge of their seats.

Tomb Raider: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is available for pre-order on iTunes and available Friday, March 16. Below is the album's track listing:

1. "Return To Croft Manor"
2. "Seeking Endurance"
3. "The Bag"
4. "Path of Paternal Secrets"
5. "The Devil's Sea"
6. "Let Yamatai Have Her"
7. "Figure In The Night"
8. "Remember This"
9. "Never Give Up"
10. "Karakuri Wall"
11. "What Lies Underneath Yamatai"
12. "There's No Time"
13. "Becoming The Tomb Raider"
14. "The Croft Legacy"

For more on Junkie XL, visit his artist page at AXS.