Listen: Paul McCartney debuts stripped version of “Live and Let Die' from 'Wings' reissue
YouTube/Paul McCartney

Paul McCartney has dipped into his massive archive once again and will treat fans to a pair of expanded Wings reissues in time for the holiday season. The legendary British rocker plans to release deluxe editions of his first two Wings albums, including Wild Life, as well as Red Rose Speedway on Dec. 7 via Capitol and fans can get a taste of the bonus offerings courtesy of a previously unheard alternate version of Wings' chart-topping 1973 single “Live and Let Die.”

The ex-Beatle unveiled the previously unreleased mix of “Live and Let Die” in conjunction with the deluxe reissue announcement on Oct. 19 via his official Paul McCartney website. Penned by Macca along with his late wife Linda McCartney as the title song to the 1973 James Bond movie, the single became the best selling Bond theme to that point.

The alt-take opens similarly to the original version with the two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Famer singing the first verse, accompanied by piano. The change comes in the chorus, which strips away the heavily orchestrated arrangement of the original version. Fans can check out the official audio above.

The deluxe editions of Wild Life and Red Rose Speedway have both been remastered and each includes rough mixes, original single edits, B-sides, previously unreleased tracks and a 128-page booklet. The two albums can be purchased as separate sets or together in the super deluxe 11-disc set “Paul McCartney and Wings 1971–73," which is available for preorder here.

The 3CD, 1DVD deluxe edition of Wild Life is available to pre-order here and the six-disc deluxe edition of Red Rose Speedway, which includes 3CDs plus DVD and Blu-ray, is available here. See below for full track listings.

The 18-time Grammy winner is currently on the road with his recently launched Freshen Up Tour. The world trek continues with a two-night stand Oct. 31 – Nov. 1 in Tokyo at Tokyo Dome. Fans in the U.S. can look forward to catching the “Band on the Run” hitmaker in 2019 when he launches his U.S. leg on  May 23 in New Orleans at Smoothie King Arena. Grab your Paul McCartney tickets now at AXS. For all the latest information on Paul McCartney, click here.

Wings, Wild Life archive edition track listing:
CD1 – Remastered Album
1. “Mumbo” (2018 Remaster)
2. “Bip Bop” (2018 Remaster)
3. “Love Is Strange” (2018 Remaster)
4. “Wild Life” (2018 Remaster)
5. “Some People Never Know” (2018 Remaster)
6. “I Am Your Singer” (2018 Remaster)
7. “Bip Bop Link” (2018 Remaster)
8. “Tomorrow” (2018 Remaster)
9. “Dear Friend” (2018 Remaster)
10. “Mumbo Link” (2018 Remaster)

CD2 – Rough Mixes
1. “Mumbo” [Rough Mix]
2. “Bip Bop” [Rough Mix]
3. “Love Is Strange” (Version) [Rough Mix]
4. “Wild Life” [Rough Mix]
5. “Some People Never Know” [Rough Mix]
6. “I Am Your Singer” [Rough Mix]
7. “Tomorrow” [Rough Mix]
8. “Dear Friend” [Rough Mix]

CD3 – Bonus Audio
1. “Good Rockin’ Tonight” [Home Recording]
2. “Bip Bop” [Home Recording]
3. “Hey Diddle” [Home Recording]
4. “She Got It Good” [Home Recording]
5. “I Am Your Singer” [Home Recording]
6. “Outtake I”
7. “Dear Friend” [Home Recording I]
8. “Dear Friend” [Home Recording II]
9. “Outtake II”
10. “Indeed I Do”
11. “When The Wind Is Blowing”
12. “The Great Cock And Seagull Race” [Rough Mix]
13. “Outtake III”
14. “Give Ireland Back To The Irish”
15. “Give Ireland Back To The Irish” (Version)
16. “Love Is Strange” [Single Edit]
17. “African Yeah Yeah”

DVD – Bonus Video
1. “Scotland, 1971”
2. “The Ball”
3. “ICA Rehearsals”
4. “Give Ireland Back To The Irish” (Rehearsal)

Wings, Red Rose Speedway archive edition track listing:
CD1 – Remastered Album
1. “Big Barn Bed” (2018 Remaster)
2. “My Love” (2018 Remaster)
3. “Get On The Right Thing” (2018 Remaster)
4. “One More Kiss” (2018 Remaster)
5. “Little Lamb Dragonfly” (2018 Remaster)
6. “Single Pigeon” (2018 Remaster)
7. “When The Night” (2018 Remaster)
8. “Loup” (1st Indian On The Moon) (2018 Remaster)
9. “Medley” (2018 Remaster)
* a) “Hold Me Tight”
* b) “Lazy Dynamite”
* c) “Hands Of Love”
* d) “Power Cut”

CD2 – “Double Album”
1. “Night Out”
2. “Get On The Right Thing”
3. “Country Dreamer”
4. “Big Barn Bed”
5. “My Love”
6. “Single Pigeon”
7. “When The Night”
8. “Seaside Woman”
9. “I Lie Around”
10. “The Mess” [Live At The Hague]
11. “Best Friend” [Live In Antwerp]
12. “Loup (1st Indian On The Moon)”
13. “Medley”
* a) “Hold Me Tight”
* b) “Lazy Dynamite”
* c) “Hands Of Love”
* d) “Power Cut”
14. “Mama’s Little Girl”
15. “I Would Only Smile”
16. “One More Kiss”
17. “Tragedy”
18. “Little Lamb Dragonfly”

CD3 – Bonus Audio
1. “Mary Had A Little Lamb”
2. “Little Woman Love”
3. “Hi, Hi, Hi”
4. “C Moon”
5. “Live And Let Die”
6. “Get On The Right Thing” [Early Mix]
7. “Little Lamb Dragonfly” [Early Mix]
8. “Little Woman Love” [Early Mix]
9. “1882” [Home Recording]
10. “Big Barn Bed” [Rough Mix]
11. “The Mess”
12. “Thank You Darling”
13. “Mary Had A Little Lamb” [Rough Mix]
14. “1882” [Live In Berlin]
15. “1882”
16. “Jazz Street”
17. “Live And Let Die” [Group Only, Take 10]

DVD 1 – Bonus Video
1. Music Videos
2. James Paul McCartney TV Special
3. “Live And Let Die” [Live in Liverpool]
4. Newcastle Interview

DVD 2 – The Bruce McMouse Show
5.1 Surround Dolby Digital, 16bit 48kHz /PCM Stereo

Blu-Ray – The Bruce McMouse Show
5.1 Surround DTS-HD Master Audio, 24bit 96kHz/PCM Stereo 24bit 96kHz