Listen: Sharon Van Etten announces new album, shares lead single, ‘Comeback Kid’

Sharon Van Etten has begun her next album cycle with an energizing new single titled “Comeback Kid.” The indie singer-songwriter announced on Tuesday that her follow-up studio effort to 2014’s Are We There will be titled Remind Me Tomorrow and is scheduled to arrive early next year on Jan. 18.

From the first opening notes of “Comeback Kid,” Etten firmly establishes a new sound with the gradually building and fluctuating arrangement of synths to go with a lively dance rhythm. The song is a much stronger burst of energy compared to the more mellowed-out sound from her last album. Etten's vocals and lyrical messages are filled with confidence as the somewhat spacey song thrives from start to finish thanks to the help of the album's producer, John Congleton, who has cleverly worked the singer into ditching her guitar for a smooth layer of synths for the new single.

Sharon has released a few different singles and studio projects here and there over the last few years, including a reissue of her Because I Was In Love debut album in 2017, followed by a magical cover of Skeeter Davis’ “The End of The World” for a “Man in the High Castle” compilation album.

“Dear fans, Thank you so much for your support and encouragement the past 4 years,” Etten shared in a grateful statement via her Facebook on Tuesday morning. “I have gone back to school, had a child, and landed my first acting gig. During that time, I wrote a record and I am excited to announce it will be out Jan. 18, 2019.”

The “acting gig” she’s referring to would be her role as Rachel on the Netflix drama series “The OA” during its first season in 2016, in addition to her musical cameo in 2017’s return of “Twin Peaks.”

Etten also recently performed at The National’s Homecoming Festival in Cincinnati back in the spring and will rejoin the rock band early next week for a concert at Colorado’s Red Rocks Amphitheatre on Oct. 9.

Remind Me Tomorrow Track Listing:
1. “I Told You Everything”
2. “No One’s Easy to Love”
3. “Memorial Day”
4. “Comeback Kid”
5. “Jupiter 4”
6. “Seventeen”
7. “Malibu”
8. “You Shadow”
9. “Hands”
10. “Stay”