Listen: Yoshiki and Hyde team up for Attack on Titan's season three theme song
Hiroyuki Sawano Works by Nigel/YouTube

Earlier this month, it was revealed that X Japan drummer/pianist Yoshiki and L'Arc-en-Ciel/Vamps singer Hyde would join forces for the theme song to the third season of Attack On Titan. With the first episode airing yesterday, the theme was released to the public. Many fans of the hit anime series noticed how this song has a lighter tone than the show's previous theme songs done by Japanese symphonic metal band Linked Horizon. New episodes of Attack on Titan will be released weekly on Crunchyroll, Funimation, and Hulu. Starting next month, Adult Swim will air dubbed episodes of the third season on Toonami.

Yoshiki and Hyde are no strangers when it comes to anime. In 2014, Yoshiki wrote the theme song for Saint Seiya: Legend of Sanctuary titled "Hero." Many X-Japan songs have been featured in anime, including "Scarlet Love Song" from Buddha: The Great Departure and "Forever Love" from X. In 1994, the band was given the anime treatment for the music video to "Rusty Nail."

In 2005,  L'Arc-en-Ciel's single "Link" was the theme for Fullmetal Alchemist the Movie: Conqueror of Shamballa. The following year, Hyde's 2006 solo single "Season's Call" was used as the theme song for Blood+. In 2010, Hyde made his voice acting debut in the 2011 anime series Bakuman.

Yoshiki recently performed with X-Japan at Coachella back in April. Their performances featured special appearances by Marilyn Manson, who performed "Sweet Dreams" with Yoshiki, and Wes Borland, who played with the band during their 2008 reunion shows in Japan. The band is working on their first album in over 20 years, which is slated to be released soon. In 2015, the band unveiled their latest single "Born To be Free," which topped the iTunes in several countries.

Hyde's other band Vamps recently announced a hiatus following performances supporting their 2017 album Underworld, which peaked at number two on the Oricon Albums Chart.  Last month, the singer released two new singles: "Who's Gonna Save Us" and "After Light." These are his first solo songs in over 12 years. He's been busy touring throughout Japan this summer in support of the new music.