Lyle Thompson wins 2018 NLL Sportsmanship Award
YouTube/NLL | National Lacrosse League

Georgia Swarm forward Lyle Thompson won the 2018 National Lacrosse League sportsmanship award on Monday. It is the second consecutive season that a Swarm player won the NLL award for sportsmanship as Jordan Hall won the award in 2017. It should be noted however that Hall is no longer with the Swarm as he was selected by the Philadelphia Wings in the 2018 NLL expansion draft. 

Thompson beat out John LaFontaine of the New England Black Wolves and Jordan Gillies of the Colorado Mammoth to win the award. Throughout his career, Thompson has spent very little time in the penalty box. He only has 28 penalty minutes in 54 National Lacrosse League games with the Swarm, including a career-low six penalty minutes in 18 games during the 2017-18 NLL regular season. In the postseason, when games matter the most, Thompson has zero penalty minutes in six career playoff games. 

In winning the award, Thompson thanked his parents for raising him properly and his Swarm head coach Ed Comeau. While showing strong discipline during the 2017-18 NLL season, Thompson had career highs in goals (46), shorthanded points (five), shots (247) and shots on goal (172). 

For 2018-19 tickets to see the Georgia Swarm at the Infinite Energy Arena, please click here.