Mike Campbell and Neil Finn will replace Lindsey Buckingham on Fleetwood Mac's 2018 tour
AXS TV Concerts/YouTube

Fleetwood Mac has parted ways with longtime singer/guitarist Lindsey Buckingham, and has replaced him with guitarist Mike Campbell (formerly of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) and singer/guitarist Neil Finn, a founding member of Crowded House. Campbell and Finn will be part of a 2018 Fleetwood Mac tour whose dates are to be announced.

Several media outlets, including Entertainment Weekly, have reported that Fleetwood Mac released this collective statement on April 9, 2018: “We are thrilled to welcome the musical talents of the caliber of Mike Campbell and Neil Finn into the Mac family. With Mike and Neil, we’ll be performing all the hits that the fans love, plus we’ll be surprising our audiences with some tracks from our historic catalogue of songs. Fleetwood Mac has always been a creative evolution. We look forward to honoring that spirit on this upcoming tour.” 

On April 9, Finn confirmed on his Twitter account that he has joined Fleetwood Mac, and said in a separate statement to Entertainment Weekly, “Two weeks ago I received a wonderful invitation to be a part of a truly great band. A few days later I was standing in a room playing music with Fleetwood Mac. It felt fresh and exciting, so many great songs, a spectacular rhythm section and 2 of the greatest voices ever. Best of all, we sounded good together. It was a natural fit. I can’t wait to play.” 

Fleetwood Mac has gone through numerous lineup changes since forming in London in 1967. Fleetwood Mac co-founders Mick Fleetwood (drums) and John McVie (bass) have been the only members who have never left the band, whose current lineup includes John’s ex-wife Christine McVie (vocals and keyboards) and singer Stevie Nicks. American songwriters Buckingham and Nicks first joined Fleetwood Mac for the band’s 1975 self-titled album, which was followed by Fleetwood Mac’s biggest-selling and most-acclaimed album to date: 1977’s Rumours, which has sold 40 million copies worldwide and won numerous awards, including the Grammy Award for Album of the Year. The band’s numerous hit songs include “Dreams,” “Go Your Own Way,” “Don’t Stop,” “Rhiannon,” “You Make Loving Fun,” “Say You Love Me,” “Hold Me,” “Little Lies,” “Tusk” and “Sara.”

Fleetwood Mac’s lineup of Buckingham, Nicks, John McVie, Christine McVie and Fleetwood has also been the band’s most popular, having recorded other hit Fleetwood Mac studio albums such as Tusk (1979), Mirage (1982) and Tango in the Night (1987). Buckingham, Nicks and McVie have been the chief songwriters in Fleetwood Mac when they have been in the band, and they sing lead vocals on the Fleetwood Mac songs that they have either written by themselves or for which they have been the primary songwriting force. Over the years, Buckingham also assumed the role of Fleetwood Mac's musical director.

Buckingham quit Fleetwood Mac in 1987, did a reunion performance with the band for Bill Clinton’s 1993 inauguration, and officially rejoined Fleetwood Mac in 1997. Fleetwood Mac’s most recent studio album was 2003’s Say You Will, which did not have Christine McVie as a member, since she quit the band in 1998 and rejoined in 2014. In 2017, Buckingham and McVie teamed up for the appropriately titled Lindsey Buckingham/Christine McVie album and tour.

Before Buckingham’s 2018 departure from Fleetwood Mac, his last performance with the band was when Fleetwood Mac was honored at the MusiCares Person of the Year gala on Jan. 26 at Radio City Music Hall in New York. Fleetwood Mac was the first group to receive this MusiCares accolade.