Mike Love of The Beach Boys to release Christmas album ‘Reason for the Season’

Mike Love fans will want to put aside some coin for an upcoming holiday season album. The Beach Boys frontman will release his latest solo effort Reason for the Season on Oct. 26 via BMG.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer unveiled details of his festive season offering on Sept. 20 via Twitter and other social media. Reason for the Season is Love's third solo release and a follow up to 2017's Unleash the Love.

The album features a mixture of 12 holiday season standards and original compositions. Christmas classics like “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” are mixed with covers of Beach Boys favorites like “Little St. Nick” and Love's original song “Alone on Christmas Day.” The album features a number of special guests, including members of Love's family along with an  appearance by Hanson on “Finally It's Christmas.”

“It’s a such a joy to create this music with my actual family and my family of collaborators,” writes Love. “We’re looking forward to being part of the soundtrack of many holiday seasons to come.”

Reason for the Season is available for preorder here in CD and vinyl formats. Fans can check out a live version of Love's original song “Alone on Christmas Day,” performed with The Beach Boys above and the album's full track listing below.

Love will be back fronting the current Beach Boys touring line up when the “Good Vibrations” hitmakers head out on a 22-city U.S. holiday tour next month. The winter romp launches Nov. 16 in Chattanooga, TN, at Tivoli Theatre and wraps up Dec. 30 in Denver at Paramount Theatre.

The surf-rock pioneers will continue to maintain a busy schedule in 2019.  The multi-platinum sellers will launch their 2019 U.S. tour leg on Jan. 26 in Cleveland, MS, at Bologna Performing Arts Centre and wrap up April 4 in Key West, FL, at Sunset Green Event Lawn before heading overseas, starting with a two-night stand June 24 – June 25 at London's prestigious Royal Albert Hall.  Grab your Beach Boys tickets right now at AXS.

For all the latest details on Mike Love, click here. For more information on The Beach Boys, click here.

Reason for the Season track listing:

“Away in the Manger”
“Oh Come All Ye Faithful”
“O Holy Night”
“Bring a Torch”
“Do You Hear What I Hear”
“Celestial Celebration”
“It Must Be Christmas”
“Little St. Nick”
“Alone On Christmas Day”
“Reason For The Season”
“Finally it’s Christmas” (featuring Hanson)
“Jingle Bell Rock”