Missy Elliot, John Prine and more inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame
Missy Elliot/YouTube

Missy Elliot, John Prine, Cat Stevens and more are among the 2019 inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. As Pitchfork reported, Elliot is the first female rapper to nab the prestigious accolade for her trailblazing body of work spanning three decades. Read about Elliot's landmark solo debut Supa Dupa Fly here.

Related: The top 10 best Missy Elliott songs 

Legendary singer-songwriters John Prine and Yusuf/Cat Stevens were also inducted along with producer Dallas Austin, who penned hits like Brandy and Monica’s “The Boy Is Mine” and TLC’s “Creep;” Jack Tempchin, who co-wrote a number of Eagles songs; and Tom T. Hall, who is perhaps most well-known for writing the country-crossover hit “Harper Valley PTA.” The induction ceremony takes place on June 13 at New York City’s Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Songwriter Hall of Fame inductee John Prine is currently touring around his 25th overall album, 2018’s The Tree of Forgiveness. The renowned songsmith will play throughout 2019 including a stop at Red Rocks Amphitheatre on July 28 where he will perform with the Colorado Symphony. 

You can find tickets to Prine’s Red Rocks show here or follow this link to browse AXS for tickets or select other John Prine dates.