MTV VMAs announce Song of Summer nominees
KM TV — YouTube

MTV has officially announced the nominees for the MTV Video Music Awards Song of the Summer category. This year's awards will be hosted by Katy Perry, and broadcast from Los Angeles on Aug.27.

The Song of Summer nominees include: “Shape of You” by Ed Sheeran, “Despacito Remix” by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee featuring Justin Bieber, “XO Tour Llif3” by Lil Uzi Vert, “There’s Nothing Holding Me Back” by Shawn Mendes, “Down” by Fifth Harmony featuring Gucci Mane, ”OMG by Camily Cabello featuring Quavo, “Wild Thoughts” by DJ Khalid featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller, and “Sorry Not Sorry” by Demi Lovato. Check out all the videos below.

The eight Song of Summer contenders will be up for fan vote in the Verizon UP presented battle via a 36-hour Snapchat Our Story campaign starting on Aug. 24 at 1 p.m. ET. Fans are encouraged to to vote for their favs. 

A big change in this year's awards is that MTV have dropped the gender specific categories this year. The leading nominee — with eight nominations — is Kendrick Lamar, followed by Katy Perry and The Weeknd, who tied with five nominations each. The newly created Artist of the Year category includes Lamar, Perry, The Weeked, Ariana Grande, Bruno Mars, and Ed Sheeran.

Check out the entire list of nominees here and cast your votes for your favorite artists at the MTV VMA website. 

“Shape of You”

By Ed Sheeran

“Despacito Remix”

By Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee featuring Justin Bieber

“XO Tour Llif3”

By Lil Uzi Vert

“There’s Nothing Holding Me Back”

By Shawn Mendes


by Fifth Harmony featuring Gucci Mane


By Camily Cabello featuring Quavo

“Wild Thoughts”

By DJ Khalid featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller

“Sorry Not Sorry”

By Demi Lovato