Got a musical fever? First single from ‘The Art of McCartney’ The Cure

At one time or another, nearly everyone has dreamt of a chance meeting with the proverbial wish-granting genie, expectantly contemplating the use of three precious chances to change the world: What if there was no need for money? What if there were no more wars? And most importantly, what if over 30 of the universe’s most celebrated and influential music luminaries could collaborate on a single record?

While music fans of the world will unfortunately continue to wish for lasting peace and limitless riches, they can at least console themselves with the Nov. 17 release of arguably the greatest musical partnership of all time, The Art of McCartney. To say that the record is “eagerly anticipated” is the understatement of the ages. The album brings together an extraordinary roster of legendary performers to pay tribute to history’s greatest songwriter by performing tunes from his time with The Beatles, Wings and as a solo artist.

The record’s producers served up an appetizing first morsel for the clamoring masses with the Sept. 9 release of The Beatles' “Hello Goodbye” as heard through the talented ears of McCartney’s son James and Robert Smith and his bandmates in The Cure. Adding to the lead single’s already enormous appeal, the rendition is the alternative rockers’ first new music in six years.

Among the seemingly limitless list of masters of the tuneful universe that contributed tracks to the 34-track opus are Yusuf/Cat Stevens (“The Long and Winding Road”), Bob Dylan (“Things We Said Today”), Barry Gibb (“When I'm 64”), Billy Joel (“Maybe I'm Amazed,” “Live and Let Die”), Roger Daltrey (“Helter Skelter”) and Brian Wilson (“Wanderlust”).

As befits an effort of such magnitude, The Art of McCartney will be available in an eclectic and wide-ranging selection of formats, including a standard 34-track two-CD edition, vinyl and digital editions, 42-track deluxe sets with hardbound books and a very limited (1,000 copies) deluxe box set that includes a “specially designed Hofner violin bass shaped USB with flac files of the album.” Better get in line today for that one.

Here is the full, incredible track listing for the new album:

1. “Maybe I’m Amazed” Billy Joel
2. “Things We Said Today” Bob Dylan
3. “Band On The Run” Heart
4. “Junior’s Farm” Steve Miller
5. “The Long and Winding Road” Yusuf / Cat Stevens
6. “My Love” Harry Connick, Jr.
7. “Wanderlust” Brian Wilson
8. “Bluebird” Corinne Bailey Rae
9. “Yesterday” Willie Nelson
10. “Junk” Jeff Lynne
11. “When I’m 64” Barry Gibb
12. “Every Night” Jamie Cullum
13. “Venus and Mars/ Rock Show” KISS
14. “Let Me Roll It” Paul Rodgers
15. “Helter Skelter” Roger Daltrey
16. “Helen Wheels” Def Leppard
17. “Hello Goodbye” The Cure ft. James McCartney
18. “Live And Let Die” Billy Joel
19. “Let It Be” Chrissie Hynde
20. “Jet” Robin Zander and Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick
21. “Hi, Hi, Hi” Joe Elliott
22. “Letting Go” Heart
23. “Hey Jude” Steve Miller
24. “Listen To What The Man Said” Owl City
25. “Got To Get You Into My Life” Perry Farrell
26. “Drive My Car” Dion
27. “Lady Madonna” Allen Toussaint
28. “Let ’Em In” Dr. John
29. “So Bad” Smokey Robinson
30. “No More Lonely Nights” The Airborne Toxic Event
31. “Eleanor Rigby” Alice Cooper
32. “Come And Get It” Toots Hibbert with Sly and Robbie
33. “On The Way” B. B. King
34. “Birthday” Sammy Hagar