Movie music: Fall Out Boy do 'Ghostbusters', Lil Wayne joins 'Suicide Squad'
FallOutBoyVEVO/ YouTube

The summer movie season is in full swing and as we head into July, a couple of major new films are readying release: The long-in-the-works “Ghostbusters” reboot starring Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig and the D.C. Comics adaptation “Suicide Squad” starring Will Smith and Jared Leto. Today, a pair of new songs from those movies were released, and they’re as cinematic and over-the-top as the films they rep.

First up is “Ghostbusters (I’m Not Afraid),” a collaboration between pop-punk all-stars Fall Out Boy and hip-hop legend Missy Elliott. The track flips the familiar melody and lyrics of Ray Parker Jr.’s original into something between a remix and a cover (from the sound of it, sort of like the film itself). Listen for yourself in the video embedded above.

More Ghostbusters: Check out Nas’ Ghostbusters-inspired fashion line

The other track is “Sucker For Pain,” which also indicative of its film source in that it features a huge cast of disparate artists setting aside their differences for a (musical) mission. The song is credited to Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons w/ Logic and Ty Dolla $ign ft X Ambassadors (whew!), and the beat is a spooky, organ-based slow-burner. Listen to that one below.

Just a hunch, but something tells me we’ll be hearing both songs over the closing titles of their respective films. We’ll see if the songs -- and the films -- become hits soon enough; “Ghostbusters” opens on July 15 while “Suicide Squad” is set for release on August 5.