The cover for "Pure McCartney."
The cover for "Pure McCartney."
© 1970 Paul McCartney/Photographer: Linda McCartney

Paul McCartney has announced he'll release a new compilation that will span his solo career covering most though not all of the albums he has put out since leaving the Beatles. Pure McCartney, with a cover featuring the former Beatle with a beard, will be released June 10 in 2-CD and 4-CD sets along with a four-LP vinyl version, and also digitally on iTunes. The 2-CD set with 39 tracks will list for $19.98. The expanded 4-CD deluxe edition that will include a book will list for $34.99 digitally and $39.98 for the physical set. The album will also be released on 180g vinyl with four discs for $69.98. Those ordering the digital version in advance on iTunes get free downloads of seven tracks.

The largest track list, the one for the deluxe edition, has songs from his albums McCartney, RAM, Band on the Run, Wings at the Speed of Sound, Venus and Mars, Red Rose Speedway, Pipes of Peace, Kisses on the Bottom, McCartney II, Back to the Egg, Flaming Pie, Chaos and Creation in the Back Yard, Wild Life, Memory Almost Full, Off the Ground, London Town, Give My Regards to Broad Street, and his most recent album NEW, plus the album Electric Arguments done under The Fireman alias, in addition to several non-album singles. There are no unreleased tracks on Pure McCartney.

Fans who saw the track lists when they were released on March 31 had, of course, their own suggestions for songs that should have been used. But they were particularly vocal about “My Brave Face” from the Flowers in the Dirt album being left off. The song hit No. 25 on the Billboard charts in 1989.

The album announcement came after McCartney had posted two teaser videos the previous two days. The second one on March 30 had 67 song titles that rushed by at almost the speed of sound. The songs listed matched those in the deluxe edition. The album was personally assembled by Paul McCartney and some, though not all songs, have been remastered for the new album, his label, Hear Music, said. The songs in the standard edition include 12 Top 10 U.S. singles and 10 UK Top 10s. The deluxe edition has 18 Top 10 singles from the U.S. and UK and 9 U.S. No. 1's. His last compilation was Wingspan in 2001.

In a press announcement for the new album, McCartney said Pure McCartney was put together purely for enjoyment. “Me and my team came up with the idea of putting together a collection of my recordings with nothing else in mind other than having something fun to listen to. Maybe to be enjoyed on a long car journey or an evening at home or at a party with friends. So we got our heads together and came up with these diverse playlists from various periods of my long and winding career. The word career is a bit misleading because to me it has been more like a musical adventure than a 'proper job.'”

He also took pride in the variety of his career work. “It pleases me, and often amazes me, that I’ve been involved in the writing and recording of so many songs, each of them so different from the others. But on my next long car journey. this will be the soundtrack for the ride, and what a great ride it has been coming up with these songs. So jump in your hot rod or relax in your hot bath and give these ditties a spin and remember that if half of the pleasure we had in putting this collection together communicates itself to you, we’ll all be riding high!”

Each of the titles on the three configurations is different. To give an idea of what the sets contain, disc 1 of the standard edition 2-CD set will have "Maybe I'm Amazed,” “Heart of the Country,” “Jet,” “Warm and Beautiful,” “Listen to What the Man Said,” “Dear Boy,” “Silly Love Songs,” “The Songs They Were Singing,” “Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey,” “Another Day,” “Sing the Changes,” “Jenny Wren,” “Save Us,” “Mrs. Vandebilt,” “Mull of Kintyre,” “Let 'Em In,” “Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five,” and “Ebony and Ivory.” The standard edition's disc 2 will feature "Band on the Run,” “Arrow Through Me,” “My Love,” “Live and Let Die,” “Too Much Rain,” “Goodnight Tonight,” “Say Say Say 2015 Remix,” “My Valentine,” “The World Tonight,” “Pipes of Peace,” “Dance Tonight,” “Here Today,” “Wanderlust,” “Great Day,” “Coming Up,” “No More Lonely Nights,” “Only Mama Knows,” “With a Little Luck,” “Hope For the Future,” and “Junk.”