© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 1/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 2/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 3/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 4/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 5/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 6/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 7/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 8/9
© Andrew Wilson / www.rockmonthly.com
Photo 9/9

At the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in San Francisco on April 15, The xx performed a career spanning set list to kick-off their three-night residency at the iconic venue, and first of their headlining American tour.

The London based trio came out to screams of excitement, opening with “Say Something Loving” off their newest album I See You, which led to fan favorites from their debut album, songs “Crystalised” and “Islands”. The three owned the night, and the crowd, with their exemplary performance and musicianship. Bassist/vocalist Oliver Sim’s voice resonated throughout the auditorium, like a velvety Dave-Gahan-meets-Michael-Hutchence, while guitarist/vocalist Romy Madly Croft’s dreamy and ethereal styling was the complementary Yang to his Yin. Jamie Smith's masterful pulsing beats and electronic accents kept everyone out of their seats and the general admission floor dancing until the very end.

Of course, nearly half of the set list supported the new album, but The xx also dug deep into their first album, simply titled xx, to fill most of the other half of their 19-song night.  With the aforementioned “Crystalised” and “Islands”, “Basic Space” and “Infinity” were highlights from the first-album line-up.  With its hypnotic single-string lines, “VCR” probably had one of the loudest sing-alongs of the night, with second album The Coexist’s single “Fiction” coming in a close second.  The band chose a cover, kind of, to end the set before encores with Jamie xx’s “Loud Spaces”, the single from Jamie Smith's solo effort featuring Romy on vocals.  Lead single "On Hold" opened the encores, and their instrumental song "Intro" followed.  Show-ending staple "Angels" closed the night  

Although this is their first headlining show on American soil in 2017, The xx have already had a busy year, seeing the release of their critically acclaimed third album I See You, touring throughout Europe, and stopping for a seven-night stint in their hometown of London at the O2 Academy, which they even documented in a short film. The band also appeared at all three South American Lollapalooza shows – Brazil, Argentina, and Chile – before heading to Coachella and San Francisco. 

The xx return to Coachella for the second weekend of festivities on April 21 before continuing the rest of their tour across North America and Canada.



  1. Say Something Loving
  2. Crystalised
  3. Islands
  4. I Dare You
  5. Lips
  6. Sunset
  7. Basic Space
  8. Performance
  9. Brave For You
  10. Infinity
  11. VCR
  12. Dangerous
  13. A Violent Noise
  14. Fiction
  15. Shelter
  16. Loud Places (Jamie xx cover)


  1. On Hold
  2. Intro
  3. Angels