Prince’s estate announces posthumous ‘Piano & A Microphone’ album, share first track, ‘Mary Don't You Weep’
Warner Music Group/YouTube

The late, great Prince Rogers Nelson would have turned 60-years-old today (June 7). Following his untimely death back in 2016, it was widely speculated how much unreleased music that The Purple One had stashed away for potential future use. In the two years since, rumors have come out on various posthumous projects, including Jay-Z reportedly curating an album for TIDAL, which may arrive sometime in 2019. In the meantime, Prince’s estate announced on Thursday morning that a live album titled, Piano & A Microphone: 1983 will be arriving later this year on Sept. 21.

According to the announcement shared to Prince’s Facebook page early Thursday morning (see below), the nine-track, 35-minute album was recorded back in 1983 at his private home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota. The recordings will be very stripped down production-wise, as the instrumentation across the album features only Prince's vocals, his piano and a microphone, hence the self-explanatory title. The album will also give fans “a rare, intimate glimpse into the iconic artist's creative process as he works through songs including ‘17 Days,’ ‘Purple Rain,’ ‘Strange Relationship’ and ‘International Lover,’” according to the statement.

Thursday morning's announcement also came with the arrival of the album’s first track, “Mary Don't You Weep,” which can be heard in full in the audio-only video seen above.

Fans can click here to pre-order the CD, LP, Digital and even Deluxe versions of the upcoming album. Fans can also catch Prince’s old band, The Revolution, on tour as they continue their reunion throughout the summer months and into fall. Tickets for select shows on the North American tour are on sale now and can be purchased by clicking here.

Piano & A Microphone: 1983 Track Listing:
1. “17 Days“
2. “Purple Rain“
3. “A Case Of You“
4. “Mary Don’t You Weep“
5. “Strange Relationship“
6. “International Lover“
7. “Wednesday“
8. “Cold Coffee & Cocaine“
9. “Why The Butterflies“