'Rock Legends' delves into George Michael's iconic career tonight on AXS TV
AXS TV Promos YouTube

AXS TV’s bold original series “Rock Legends” will explore the prolific career of George Michael tonight, Aug. 13, at 8:30 ET/7:30 CT. The former Wham! front man’s tragic death rocked the music world last year and many loyal fans mourn the creative light that was extinguished in his passing. Using archival footage, clips from videos like “I Want Your Sex” and commentary from leading music critics, fans will gain new insight on the Grammy-winning music legend who has gone much too soon.

George Michael sold over 115 million records worldwide up until the time of his death, which makes him one of the best-selling music artists of all time. He won two Grammy Awards, including the coveted Album of the Year Award in 1989 for his genre-bending debut solo studio album Faith. He was the first Caucasian artist top the Top R & B/Hip Hop Albums chart and his unique blend of pop, R & B and funk set him apart from his music peers.

George Michael’s powerhouse vocals were stunning, especially in sweeping ballads like Wham’s “Careless Whisper” and Faith’s “One More Try.” His distinct sound established him as a true artist. He also collaborated with some iconic artists like his breakout 1987 duet with Aretha Franklin, “I Knew You Were Waiting” and his electric 1991 live cover of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” with Sir Elton John.  The number of people George Michael touched with his music is probably immeasurable. "The Late Late Show" host James Corden paid him an emotional tribute, along with many of his famous peers after his death.

“Rock Legends” looks at some of George Michael’s biggest hits and all the elements that made him one of the biggest music superstars on the planet. Be sure to tune in tonight at 8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT to learn more about his fascinating rise to fame. Find AXS TV on your TV and stay tuned to AXS for updates.