Seal announces new 'Standards' album with songs sung by Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald and more

It’s going to be a very good year for Seal. The British soul singer has announced a new album, Standards, featuring some of the most recognizable jazz and swing songs ever written. An ambitious record, Seal tackles songs sung by Frank Sinatra (“Luck Be A Lady,” “It Was A Very Good Year”); Ella Fitzgerald (“I’m Beginning to See The Light”); and Nina Simone (“I Put a Spell on You”).

Related: Seal appears in hilarious promo for Discovery Channel's Shark Week

To add authenticity to the album, Seal chose to work with musicians who played with the legendary artists he covers on the record. Standards includes contributions from pianist Randy Waldman (Frank Sinatra); bassist Chuck Berghofer (Ella Fitzgerald, Ray Charles); and drummer Greg Fields (Quincy Jones, Stevie Wonder). 

Seal also recorded much of the album in some of the same spaces where the original classics were put to tape, including the iconic Capitol Records in Los Angeles as well as Frank Sinatra’s United Studios (where “It Was a Very Good Year” was recorded). Standards arrives Nov. 10 via Republic Records. You can check out a full tracklist below.

Standards Tracklist:

  1. Luck Be A Lady
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. I Put A Spell On You
  4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
  5. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
  6. Love For Sale
  7. My Funny Valentine
  8. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  9. Smile
  10. I’m Beginning To See The Light (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
  11. It Was A Very Good Year