Shawn Mendes announces release date and details third album
BBC Music/YouTube

Fans of the Canadian singer and guitarist known as Shawn Mendes are off to a pretty good start to their weekend. The 19-year-old recording artist and pop heartthrob announced his soon-to-be-released studio album on Thursday, which will be self-titled and is set to arrive on May 25 via Island Records. The upcoming Shawn Mendes: The Album will follow Mendes’ 2016 release of Illuminate, which would go on to reach Platinum sale status in both the U.S. and Canada.

Mendes revealed the artwork and track listing for the upcoming release to go with Thursday's announcement, which can be read and seen in full below. Fans have already received the first taste of new music set to appear onthe 14-track album with its first two singles shared last month, “In My Blood” and “Lost In Japan.” A recently shared live performance of the latter track recorded by the BBC can be watched in full above. The album is also set to feature vocal appearances from Julia Michaels and Khalid when it arrives later next month.

According to a statement shared by CBS earlier this month, Mendes will be stopping by “The Late Late Show With James Corden" for a four night run from June 4 through June 7 to help promote the album’s arrival a week prior. Mendes’ week-long residency on the popular late-night talk show will include performances of his new songs in addition to partaking in “various ‘Late Late Show’ bits throughout the week.” It’s pretty safe to assume that Mendes and the show’s producers will be able to sneak in some “Carpool Karaoke” action into the schedule as well.

Mendes didn’t reveal any big promotional touring plans around the release of the album, but he is one of the many big names in pop music who are scheduled to perform at the iHeartRadio Wango Tango concert event in Los Angeles later this summer. The concert is set to take place at the Banc of California Stadium on June 2, and fans can purchase tickets now by clicking here.

Shawn Mendes: The Album Track Listing:
1. ”In My Blood”
2. ”Nervous”
3. ”Lost In Japan”
4. ”Where Were You In The Morning”
5. ”Like To Be You” (feat. Julia Michaels)
6. ”Fallin' All in You”
7. ”Particular Taste ”
8. ”Why”
9. ”Because I Had You”
10. ”Queen”
11. ”Youth” (feat. Khalid)
12. ”Mutual”
13. ”Perfectly Wrong”
14. ”When You Are Ready”