Styx announce two new albums releasing this summer

Fans of classic-rock band Styx are being treated to two new releases this summer. While neither is new music, the upcoming releases will not disappoint. 

On June 29, Styx will release Sing for the Day!, a live recording of guitarist Tommy Shaw's performance with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra last year, featuring a mix of material from Styx, Damn Yankees, and Shaw's solo career, plus a version of Styx song "Crystal Ball" with a previously unheard, unrecorded verse and audio of four songs not included in the performance. The live recording will be available on Blu-ray, CD, and digital and is currently available for pre-order. The performance appropriately fell on the 10th anniversary of Styx's original performance with the orchestra, One with Everything

"Sing for the Day!, a retrospective look at some of my favorite songs I’ve written and co-written, performed with  Contemporary Youth Orchestra, now remixed in glorious 5.1, takes them all to a higher place I’d never imagined," Shaw said in a press release.

Then, on July 27, the band will release a two-disc reissue of last year's album, The Mission, featuring the original album as well as a Blu-ray disc featuring visualizations of each song based on the album artwork. The Blu-ray will also include "The Making of The Mission Documentary," plus four music videos—official and NASA-created videos for "Gone Gone Gone" and lyric and live videos for "Radio Silence." The new edition is currently available for pre-order.

"The Mission, a concept album of all new music, is a trip," Shaw said in a press release. "Now it’s coming to you in 5.1 surround and you’re cordially invited to strap yourselves in and take that trip with us, then take it again!"

Be sure to tune in to AXS TV on Saturday, June 30—the day after the release of Sing for the Day!—for "Saturday Styx," featuring eight hours of interviews, backstage footage, and “Styx: Live At The Orleans Arena Las Vegas,"  ending with Sing for the Day!

The Sing for the Day! tracklisting is as follows:

1. Overture
2. Girls with Guns
3. Too Much Time on My Hands
4. Fooling Yourself
5. Diamond
6. Crystal Ball
7. Boat On The River
8. Sing for the Day
9. Renegade
10. Man In The Wilderness
11. Come Again
12. High Enough
13. Blue Collar Man

Blu-ray Bonus songs:
Down That Highway
The Great Divide
I'll Be Coming Home
The Night Goes On