The 10 best Nickelback songs

Nickelback has enjoyed a hugely successful career despite becoming an Internet joke, with many calling them the worst band of all time. While the Internet crowds love to hate on Nickelback, Chad Kroeger and company have enjoyed a hugely successful career as the second-best selling foreign musical group in the United States, behind only The Beatles.

The Canadian rock band has released eight studio albums over their career, with 35 singles, selling over 23 million albums over the last 18 years. They enjoyed five straight number one albums, with their newest album hitting in November 2014. Check out our list of Nickelback’s top 10 tracks and see where your favorites rank.

10. Gotta Be Somebody

Released in 2008, “Gotta Be Somebody” was the first single from the Nickelback album Dark Horse. The song reached No. 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts and No. 1 on the Adult Top 40. Since its release, it has been covered by Bucky Covington and Shayne Ward.

9. I’d Come For You

Also from the Dark Horse album is their 2009 release “I’d Come for You.” The song is a power ballad about someone who promises to always be there for someone no matter what, and the video shows a reference to as father and daughter. The song reached No. 44 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts.

8. Far Away

Released in 2006. “Far Away” was the fourth single from All the Right Reasons. The song reached the number eight spot on the Billboard Hot 100, making this the only album to have two Top 10 songs. Chad Kroeger has called this the band’s only true love song.

7. If Everyone Cared

“If Everyone Cared” was released in 2006 from the album All the Right Reasons and peaked at No. 17 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts, although it did hit No. 1 on the Adult Top 40 chart. The song preaches the message of helping people and, in concordance to that theme, all proceeds from digital sales of the single was donated to Amnesty International.

6. Burn it to the Ground

From the album Dark Horse, “Burn it to the Ground” reached major success when it was featured on the soundtrack for “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.” The song is an anthem about partying and burning everything to the ground. It was nominated for a Grammy for Best Hard Rock Performance in 2010.

5. Never Again

Released in 2002 from their album Silver Side Up, “Never Again” is a song that spoke about domestic violence and its effects on a family, especially the kids who witness the abuse. The song hit number one on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, and was the band’s third consecutive number one hit.

4. Someday

Released in 2003 from their album The Long Road, “Someday” is a song where the narrator looks back at a failed relationship and questions how he ended up like he did. It is a song about regrets and a desire to change things that can’t be taken back. The song hit No. 7 in the U.S. and was a No. 1 hit in Canada.

3. Rockstar

“Rockstar” was released in 2005 from All the Right Reasons and is an anthem to what it means to be a rock star. There are spoken word vocals in the verses that are delivered by ZZ Top member Billy Gibbons. The song peaked at No. 4 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

2. Photograph

Released in 2005 from the album All the Right Reasons, “Photograph” is a song about memories and how photographs can bring back fond memories of childhood and home. The song was the third Top 10 hit in the U.S., hitting No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

1. How You Remind Me

Released in 2001 from the album Silver Side Up, “How You Remind Me” tells the story of a man who loses his girlfriend and now sees images of her everywhere he goes, unable to shake the memories that keep dragging him down. The song is the one that really made Nickelback stars and was named the most played song of the entire decade by Nielsen Soundscan.