The Band's 'Music From Big Pink' gets 50th anniversary remixed and expanded reissues

The Band's 1968 debut album, Music From Big Pink, is getting a massive 50th-anniversary reissue collection to be released by Capitol Records/Universal Music Enterprises on Aug. 31. The collection will be available in these formats:

  • a super-deluxe CD/Blu-ray/2-LP/7-inch vinyl box set with a hardbound book
  • one CD
  • digital
  • 180-gram 2-LP black vinyl
  • limited-edition 180-gram 2-LP pink vinyl

All the anniversary edition configurations have a new 5.1 surround mix for the album, mixed/produced by Bob Clearmountain and mastered by Bob Ludwig from the original four-track analog masters. The 50th-anniversary reissue includes five outtakes and alternate recordings from the Big Pink sessions and a previously unreleased a cappella version of "I Shall Be Released." A new stereo mix of “The Weight” (The Band's first single and arguably The Band's most famous song) is available for streaming and for immediate download with a pre-order of the digital album. The box set includes an exclusive reproduction of The Band’s 1968 7-inch vinyl single for “The Weight” / “I Shall Be Released” in their new stereo mixes, as well as a hardbound book with classic photos by Elliott Landy.

Formed in Toronto in 1968, The Band was famously Bob Dylan's backup band before recording its own music. The original lineup of The Band consisted of Robbie Robertson (guitar, vocals), Levon Helm (drums, vocals), Rick Danko (bass guitar, vocals), Richard Manuel (keyboards, vocals) and Garth Hudson (keyboards, saxophone). Robertson and Hudson are the only living members from The Band's original lineup. The title of Music From Big Pink was inspired by the pink house in West Saugerties, New York, where band members Danko, Hudson and Manuel lived and where part of the album was written. A painting by Dylan is the album's cover art.

Produced by John Simon, Music From Big Pink was recorded at New York’s A&R Recording and Los Angeles’ Capitol Studios, with some additional session work done at Gold Star Studios in Los Angeles. Except for a cover version of Lefty Frizzell's "The Long Black Veil," the Music From Big Pink album's original release featured songs that were written by Robertson, Dylan, Manuel and/or Danko. Later albums from The Band would have most of the tracks written solely by Robertson. 

Here are the tracklists for the 50th-anniversary reissue of Music From Big Pink:

CD; Digital

2018 stereo mix (included in the box set and available individually)

1. Tears of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In a Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel’s On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released
Bonus Tracks:
12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13. Tears of Rage (Alternate Take)
14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16. Key to the Highway (Outtake)
17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)


Same tracklist as above in new 5.1 surround mix + 96kHz/24bit high-resolution stereo (exclusive to the box set)


180g black vinyl (included in the box set and available individually)

Limited-edition 180g pink vinyl (available individually)

SIDE ONE                     
1. Tears Of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come

1. In A Station
2. Caledonia Mission
3. The Weight

1. We Can Talk
2. Long Black Veil
3. Chest Fever

1. Lonesome Suzie
2. This Wheel's On Fire
3. I Shall Be Released

“The Weight” 7-inch single

Reproduced 1968 7-inch single (exclusive to the box set)

A. The Weight

B. I Shall Be Released