The Rolling Stones help develop and curate new compilation album comprised of blues classics
Rolling Stones/YouTube

The members of The Rolling Stones have teamed up with BMG and Universal to help put together a compilation album of American blues classics. According to NME, the members of the famous rock and roll band from Britain played various roles in curating the content to be featured on a double disc album titled Confessin’ The Blues, which is due out this fall on Nov. 9.

The entire 42-song tracklist to appear on Confessin’ The Blues can be seen in full below and features some of the most well known and respected names of artists who helped define and build the foundation of blues and early American rock and roll music. Artists whose songs will be included on the album range from Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley and John Lee Hooker, to Robert Johnson, Howlin’ Wolf, B.B. King and Buddy Guy.

Many fans of the classic rock band know that it was Muddy Waters’ song, “Rollin Stone,” which inspired the Rolling Stones' now-famous band name, as almost every British rock musician from the post-WWII era was heavily influenced by American blues musician. Even to this day, blues-based rock acts as the foundational core to the Rolling Stones’ signature sound and style. The band's last studio effort, 2016's Blue & Lonesome, was comprised of mostly blues covers and even won the band a Grammy in the for "Best Traditional Blues Album" category earlier this year. 

The band also had a hand in designing the album’s artwork, which was created by their guitarist, Ronnie Wood. According to the report, Wood hopes to “depict the raw passion and emotion of the blues artists channeled into their music” with his cover design, which can be seen below. 10% of the album’s net proceeds will also be going to Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation to assist in “the ongoing preservation of the historic Chess Records building, where much of this music was recorded,” according to its website.

A video trailer of the compilation album can be seen above. 

Confessin’ The Blues Disc 1 Tracklisting:
1. Muddy Waters – “Rollin’ Stone“
2 Howlin’ Wolf Little – “Red Rooster“
3. John Lee Hooker – “Boogie Chillen“
4. Little Walter – “Hate To See You Go“
5. Chuck Berry – “Little Queenie“
6. Bo Diddley – “You Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover“
7. Eddie Taylor – “Ride ‘Em On Down“
8. Slim Harpo – “I’m A King Bee“
9. Magic Sam – “All Your Love“
10. Elmore James – “Dust My Broom“
11. Little Walter – “Just Your Fool“
12. Muddy Waters – “I Want To Be Loved“
13. Big Bill Broonzy – “Key To The Highway“
14. Robert Johnson – “Love In Vain Blues“
15. Mississippi Fred McDowell – “You Gotta Move“
16. Jimmy Reed – “Bright Lights, Big City“
17. Big Maceo – “Worried Life Blues“
18. Little Johnny Taylor – “Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (Part 1)“
19. Howlin’ Wolf – “Commit A Crime“
20. Otis Rush – “I Can’t Quit You Baby“
21. Jay McShann & Walter Brown – “Confessin’ The Blues“

Confessin’ The Blues Disc 2 Tracklisting:
1. Howlin’ Wolf – “Just Like I Treat You”
2. Little Walter – “I Got To Go”
3. Chuck Berry – “Carol”
4. Bo Diddley – “Mona”
5. Muddy Waters – “I Just Want To Make Love To You”
6. Elmore James – “Blues Before Sunrise”
7. Eddie Taylor – “Bad Boy”
8. Boy Blue – “Boogie Children”
9. Jimmy Reed – “Little Rain”
10. Robert Johnson – “Stop Breakin’ Down Blues”
11. Reverend Robert Wilkins – “The Prodigal Son”
12. Lightnin’ Slim – “Hoodoo Blues”
13. Billy Boy Arnold – “Don’t Stay Out All Night”
14. Bo Diddley – “Craw Dad”
15. Dale Hawkins – “Suzie Q”
16. Amos Milburn – “Down The Road Apiece”
17. Howlin’ Wolf – “Little Baby”
18. Little Walter – “Blue And Lonesome”
19. B.B. King – “Rock Me Baby”
20. Buddy Guy – “Damn Right I’ve Got The Blues”
21. Muddy Waters – “Mannish Boy”